We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight it was to stay in this heritage home, such a beautiful spot.”
Review of The Jetty House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jetty House
Ranked #2 of 2 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Thanks so much to Ros for spending so much time with us around the open fireside, having a chat. You have both put in so much hard work already to this fabulous property, we are in awe of all you've done. The gardens and house look so pretty from the road and the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with you at Southport and suggest to all that it's not too far to go in Southern Tasmania. It was even beautiful when it was raining heavily. The nearby Hastings thermal springs and caves make this spot well worth visiting, however the close proximity to the beach is a real bonus too. Thanks again Ros and Carl, regards, Lea and Rod.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

Near the southernmost tip of Australia, the Jetty House is set in a peaceful hollow in a dramatic landscape. The house is grand without being pretentious and the hosts, Ros and Carl, seem to be such a part of the place.
Plenty of easy bay/inlet walks, close to more challenging hikes like Mt La Perouse (which I did the first time we stayed there).
We loved every minute and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frithed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Having stayed at the Jetty House several times, it remains a highlight of traveling in Tasmania for us. We have taken friends from overseas there and in later conversations, they too recall the time spent in Southport as iconic of their enjoyment of what Tassie and indeed Australia has to offer....warm company, relaxed and attentive hosts, superb locations and unique accommodation. Ros and Carl provide all of that and more. I may sound effusive, but I have good reason to! Spoil yourself with a stay at this special place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxlpltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We have recently returned from a trip down to Tasmania and found one of the most frustrating things was trying to find accomodation for our family of five. The Hastings Caves were on our "to do" list, and driving from Freycinet , we thought it would be great to stay somewhere close to the caves instead of having to do some more driving. We ended up ringing Ros from the Jetty House following a recommendation from another B&B. We loved our short stay at the Jetty House, a unique and comfy place steeped in history. The children loved the gorgoeus gardens and the proximity to the beach and jetty (just across the road) and the quaintness of the house. We were greeted with a beautiful afternoon tea, and shown to our room. The room cost was very reasonable, and beautifully furnished. The girls especially loved the chair made entirely from knitted dolls! We had our own private longue area that catered for children with puzzles and games, inclusive of a roaring fire, where we could relax and unwind from the days driving. The night even included listening to the very musical Ros and her daughter on guitar and violin! Breakfast the next day was magnificent, and made- to -order, catering for us and the children. Ros is a wonderful host, the children were sad to go and eager to return one day. Thank you for a unique experience!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exhausred!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

If you enjoy getting away from it all, this is the place to go. The location is remote and the
service wonderful. Located near the ocean with clean, unpopulated beaches, one can take a step back in time and imagine what life was like in simpler times. The rooms are quaint, sparcely decorated yet clean and comfortable, complete with quilts on the beds.
It is a rustic hideaway where it is so quiet at night you'll get the best sleep of your life.
The owners are very pleasant and eager to please. They cook everything from scratch....
and breakfast consisited of homemade bread, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh
produce from the garden, fresh eggs....amazing. If you are lucky, you may get a taste of the fresh caught local fish.
We used this as a base camp for seeing local caves, hot springs, beaches, and a rain forest skyway walk. We would definitely return....one of the most relaxing vacations of our lives.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

A friendly welcome awaited us here. Ros and Carl have restored the verandahed Jetty House, retaining the character of wooden floorboards and ornate mantels, and it is fun to discover items of local art and craftsmanship. Delicious home-cooked (and largely homegrown) meals we enjoyed include Huon brown mushrooms with scrambled eggs, backberry jam on our toast; and for dinner a first course of articholes straight from the garden, followed by salmon and asparagus. Guests can sit by their own open fire. On a dampish day we followed Ros’s suggestion of a rainforest walk to Duckhole Lake, following a gurgling creek with many little waterfalls and moss-covered logs. Best of all we were truly made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainlanderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Nine of our family stayed and it was one of the best holidays we had Ros & Carl are perfect hosts.
There is plenty to discover in the area and surrounding villages.The Jetty House is a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomdevilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jetty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jetty House

Address: Main Rd, Southport, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jetty House is a lovely spacious timber home built in 1875, situated bayside in Southport- a tiny fishing village in Far South Tasmania ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jetty House Southport, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing