We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fresh food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Asia Restaurant

New Asia Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 107 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed the fresh and tasty food here especially the egg drop soup.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just missing fresh vegetables, otherwise good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

needs to have a fresh salad available not just cooked vegetables especially for the buffet. We ate here several times, so obviously we did like it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Branka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Veggie dish and Fried Garlic Ribs but Avoid Hot and Sour Soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place is very close to the Best Western Hotel which is where we stayed so we stopped by three times to pick up some quick Chinese food. Their mixed vegetable dish ($11.95) is probably the best of all, you can actually request for the type of vegetable in that dish (ie. you can ask for just broccoli or just Chinese bok choi, etc). The other good one I want to recommend is their Dry Garlic (fried?) Ribs ($12 or $13). What to avoid: hot and sour soup - we just threw it away after tasting it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jokie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“luv their chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

this place is great the service was excellent and the prices were reasonable the portions are a good size , it always a delight to go there and eat

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The previous reviewer that gave this establishment a very poor rating prompted me to come to the defense of this restaurant. I have eaten at this restaurant many times over the years, and find that the food, service and cleanliness is consistently good. In fact, I prefer to eat Chinese food here due to concerns about cleanliness and food quality at the other Whitehorse-area Chinese restaurants. They offer a limited, but adequate, lunch hour buffet and a more extensive Sunday supper buffet. Prices are reasonable.

The business is located in an older building (circa early 1980s?) and decor/furnishings are not up-to-date or expensive, although they are certainly adequate and the interior is more than tolerable. But, I'd suggest going somewhere else if you are looking for a high-end eatery or if you have more refined decorating tastes.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YukonMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Asia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Asia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing