We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed in winter”

Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fun, Friendly, "Taste of the Yukon" type of Atmosphere....
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Closed in winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We heard this was one of the best places to eat. Unfortuantely it is closed in winter so we weren't able to review

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    253
    88
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An old friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

When you live in Whitehorse, the opening of Klondike Rib and Salmon around Mother's Day marks the arrival of spring. It is a great place to return to again and again. Whether one is there for lunch or dinner, the food choices are excellent and the dishes always enough to keep one sated. One also meets interesting people seating with one at the trestle tables. In our years in the 'Horse, we often opted for the halibut fish and chips which was to die for! Unfortunately the restaurant closes in mid September and one knows winter is coming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second Visit was Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a recent trip to Whitehorse, we made our first dinner stop the Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ. Just a week before, we had seen it featured on "You Gotta Eat Here" and so our expectations were pretty high. We were underwhelmed. The halibut was dry and the salmon overcooked. However, in fairness, the entire region had suffered a 30 minute power interruption in the heart of the evening dining hours. The restaurant was working in overdrive to finish the meals that had been started when the power went out and to serve the large waiting crowd as quickly as possible. We decided to give it another try a few nights later and were not disappointed! We split a bison tenderloin that was cooked perfectly, was fork tender and will be a meal long remembered. We shared the famous sour dough bread pudding for dessert and it was out of this world delicious! The service was outstanding on both visits, the atmosphere rustic, and the crowd congenial. We will be back should we return to Whitehorse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Unusual restaurant. Always have to queue outside on benches in the street. Served drinks in jam jars. The food was heaven. Even the Caesar salad was huge - ate half and took a good half home in a carton. I had a goats cheese starter with loads of slices of toasted bread. Main course was stew which was delicious despite my reservation about ordering it. The portions are so large that unfortunately we didn't have room for the tempting looking bread pudding. The ambience of the restaurant was great with all sorts of interesting items hanging all round. Even a notice saying the close on September 14 only 14 more sleeps!!! If you go to Whitehorse it's not to be missed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJSKWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Although we had to wait about 45 mins for a table, it was worth the wait. Great food, friendly although a bit quirky staff, the food portions were generous and good quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing