We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Share their special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ

Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fun, Friendly, "Taste of the Yukon" type of Atmosphere....
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Share their special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We sugared a salad and shared the rib and salmon special. Delicious! Good service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    252
    88
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Thought that I should go for lunch as I hadn't been this season and normally try to go a few times before they close in September.
I must say I was disappointed with the halibut chowder. The soup was cold, extremely salty & didn't have much halibut at all. The bannock is wonderful, but definitely won't order the chowder again.
Mentioned cold salty soup to server and she informed chef, but that was about it. We were polite when we mentioned it and were surprised by the lack of concern. I'm not sure if I will go back this season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were finishing up a week long trip to the Yukon. We knew the lines around the corner meant a wait but thought it also meant great food. Unfortunately both the signature bbq salmon and ribs were dry as was the baked arctic char that my wife had. Our server didn't stop by to ask how things tasted until halfway thru and after an hour wait I wasn't in the mood to return it for a second
go. It has a lively staff and good atmosphere,but for the prices they charge they should take more care with the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny-B1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Even though you have to wait... it's worth. Great food, nice folks. Especially the smoked ribs in combination with salmon. Delicious. Together with a Yukon Red; perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeB1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not as I remember it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were looking forward to our annual trip to the Klondike Rib but found it to be a little disappointing this year. They appear to have downsized the proportions considerably. Which probably isn't a bad thing, however when you become accustom to something you expect it. The chowder was fantastic as always. We were seated in a room to ourselves as we went early to avoid the lunch rush, for some reason they sat people at our table in an empty room, there went our conversation? The food service was very slow, glad we went ahead of the rush. The service we received from the server was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TammiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing