We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still overpriced”
Review of The Claim

The Claim
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Whitehorse
Restaurant details
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still overpriced”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I go there for convenience as my office is nearby but always feel my wallet shrink as i decide what overpriced gluten free (not my choice) item i need to buy to keep me going through the day. Pretencious and catering to the I must be seen crowd...i guess there has to be a place for them to go...

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenysBaltimore, Manager at The Claim, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Seems we are not what you're looking for. As I've responded before, good food is expensive to make so it is expensive to buy. And I must disagree. Most of our clientele are very "down to earth" residents of our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I used to frequent the chocolate claim but have been disappointed the last few times I have gone.
The pricey sandwiches have gone down in terms of quality and even the stale day old sandwiches are 10$.
It's kitty corner to where I work so in a crunch I'll swing by hoping for a decent sandwich and a coffee but I've been let down lately, I'll take the extra few steps around the block and go to the Java Connection from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonnaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenysBaltimore, Manager at The Claim, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
We never sell day old sandwiches for more than 1/2 price. So anything you have paid full price for was made the day you purchased it. Hope you will try us again. We can make a sandwich to order so you are assured it is fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY OVERPRICED for what you get”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a decent coffee-shop/bakery. Their chocolate cakes are great, but very pricey. I recently bought 6 hand made chocolates and they were $19. I couldn't believe it, and they didn't have an actual box to put them in. The server put them in a little bag which crushed one of the chocolates. Everything is good here, but too expensive in my opinion. The biggest issue to me is the service. Not friendly, and I feel like they are doing me a favour to take my money and serve me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowisnotcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenysBaltimore, Manager at The Claim, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
I do believe that our prices are in line with our quality. We sell our chocolates in premade packages as a rule. We usually do have boxes on site if you'd like specific pieces. I'm sorry we were out the day you came in.
We generally have positive comments on our service as well. if there is something we can change please contact our manager directly. We like to hear suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Awesome little cafe, off the beaten path even for Whitehorse. Had a great chicken and asiago sammy and an even better raspberry and rhubarb square. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a good, quick lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gluten free tasty options”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with a friend on the outside patio. The soups were nicely spiced and the salad was fantastic. We met after lunch hour and were able to enjoy a leisurely lunch with no lines or feeling that our table was needed. Oh, it also helps that it is located next door to my new favorite Whitehorse ladies store Sequels. A little shopping was in order after lunch:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TammiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Claim also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to The Claim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing