We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience - fantastic place”
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I wasn't 100% sure what to expect when I booked but we could not have been more pleased! Heather and Andrew are amazing hosts - they helped us out with whatever we needed including when we were stranded in Vancouver for an extra day.
The cabins were very clean and well maintained. There was enough space in all three rentals that we used for four adults.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different amenities (i.e. washer/dryer, # rooms) just make sure that you tell t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuelphGeckoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Sundog Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only spent one night here while traveling to Alaska. The cabin had a very nice layout and easily accommodated two couples. We decided to stay there because it was less costly than two hotel rooms. It was further from Whitehorse than we expected. That was probably our fault. If you are looking for a quiet location for a vacation, this is the spot. Just be aware that restaurants and groceries are miles away.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere a little off the classic hotel stay in Whitehorse, you should try Sundog Retreat. Quite and comfortable cabins. Spotless. Eco friendly but not uncomfortable.
Easy to find on the Klondike Hw. I will surely recommend a stay for at least some days.If you prefer restaurant dining bear in mind that its nearly 30 km from downtown Whitehorse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Even with last minute arrangements, the owners have somehow always accommodated us. This is a wonderful place to stay near Whitehorse. It's much better than a hotel and we would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

You cannot ask for anything better, the only thing you need to bring is your food , these cabins have everything you will need. Make sure to bring your swim wear and try out the hot tub. The cabins and the rest of the property is so well kept, and beautiful.Heather and her husband took the time to answer any questions we had about Whitehorse and surrounding area. We spent a day at Skagway which has to be the most amazing place I have ever seen,about 2-1/2 hours away from the cabin ,well worth the drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sundog Retreat, the cabins had an awesome view of the mountains, they were comfortable and well equipped for all our needs. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the hospitality of the owners was the best, they went out of their way to make us feel at home and recommended the best places to visit during our stay as we were staying 6 days for a family wedding. Highly recommend Sundog Retreats, a great place to stay when you visit Whitehorse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Absolutely loved it! We were in the Cranberry cabin with another couple and we appreciated the fact that the bedrooms were on 2 separate ends of the cabin with the kitchen/LR in between. We looked forward to coming home every day, sitting on the deck and just watching the world go by. It was so peaceful, private; can't say enough on how much we enjoyed this retreat. Only suggestion - maybe a little bigger fridge. We realize some people may not stay as long as we did (6 nights), but we tried to cook our supper every night and it was hard to bring groceries home as we were limited on fridge space. But we made do!! We absolutely loved, loved, loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kismif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
16.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
441 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
15.7 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
439 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $145 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing