We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls night away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
“Girls night away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful inside the cabin and peaceful views. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Had everything you needed. Location is private, feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but it doesn't take long to get there. This was my second visit for a girls weekend. We will be coming back again. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Fire Weed - great open layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    57
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
103
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sundog Retreat for three nights during the middle of October. We had spent a lot of time online trying to find something that was far enough away from the city, but not too far to drive in out as we needed. We also wanted something comfortable and rustic and this place gave us exactly that. We were very happy staying in Raven's nest with beautiful views of the mountains and trees. The hot tub was fantastic, especially at night time under the thousands of stars. There were plenty of things to entertain us and we could have stayed even longer and still had things to do. We were able to walk down to the Yukon River during our visit too. Our main reason for visiting the Yukon was to see the auroras, and we did get a slight glimpse of them on the last night. Because of our great location of comfortable accommodation, we had just as much fun during the daytime as we did while trying to watch the auroras. We were a short drive from the hot springs and nature reserve which was great. The staff at Sundog retreat are very helpful and happy to answer any questions I had. Everyone in our group was very happy and loved visiting the Yukon and would highly recommend the Sundog retreat as the place to stay.

Room Tip: The only problem we had was the all the bigger rooms were already booked out so we shared a smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were looking for a place that might be a little remote, not something in centre of town, which was a place like anywhere else. The Sun Dog Retreat had great reviews, and checked all the boxes, our only mistake was arriving rather late, but that had to do with us driving from Haines, with a Wildlife Center tour, rather than our original plan to be coming from Haines Junction. Anyway, the cabin was great – definitely NOT the rustic cabin I pictured. We had a 2 bedroom cabin, with a great kitchen – everything we needed. A nice selection of books on the shelf, we even could’ve watched TV, had we so desired. The beds were great and very comfortable. I’d be glad to return for a few days. Not too far out of Whitehorse, and had it been darker, and not so windy, I’m sure we would’ve tried to see the Northern Lights! Definitely got my vote for a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianJane1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We found this spot by following the road sign and drove in to find a grouping of small cabins and a larger building and the owner's house. They promptly greeted us and said they could absolutely fit us in for the evening. The room we had was the Nook which had two twins downstairs and a lovely loft which had a platform with a mattress - very comfy. There was a kitchen altho it had no stove it did have a micro, hotplate, and full fridge. But the nicest part was the BBQ, picnic table and some chairs to lounge in and watch the day go by. There was also access to a hot tub and sauna. All in all, quite a treat and very wonderful people

Room Tip: The cabins looked nice as they were separate but they do have a bit of a walk to the hottub and saun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The cabin was very clean and well equipped. Except for me showing up at the office and being told the cabin was open for us, we were totally secluded. The hot tub and sauna were great and the beds were very comfortable. If you are visiting Whitehorse this is a great place to stay! We were four ladies travelling the North Country and staying here made it part of our Northern Experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and four year-old had a perfectly enjoyable 4 night stay in the Fuzzy Crocus and Panorama cabins. Lovely hosts, clean and well appointed accommodations. No complaints whatsoever except for our inability to view the Northern Lights during our stay which obviously cannot be pinned on the proprietors. Will stay again unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in September 2012 in the Fuzzy Crocus cabin. Most Yukon cabns lack electric/propane heat and indooor plumbing but Sundog offers it all and satelitie TV and a ful bath and comfy bed.

Fuzzy Crocus is a 1 bedroom but could easily sleep 4 if the futon is used. Tons of room and quite private.

The mini fridge and the full propane stove worked great. Walk around the grounds or take the longer walk over to Lake Laberge.

Great Wifi in the Sun Room and a hot tub whch we did not use.

Cheaper than staying in Whitehorse and only 20 minutes north of the city. About 1 km north of where Northern Tales operate their Aurora Borealis viewings so it should be good for that too. We had taken their tour the previous night s we did not bother to stay up late enough at Sundog for a second viewing but it should be good.

The only thing we sort of missed was meeting the owners, as they are set up to arrivae and leave on your own, if desired. I guess we could have go to the office to meet them, but chose not to.

This place seems to book up quickly so reserve in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
16.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
15.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.0 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
25.9 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Property: Sundog Retreat
Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing