We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service and very overpriced”
Review of Sanchez Cantina

Sanchez Cantina
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude service and very overpriced”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Enough said. You don't get much for your money, everything kind of tastes the same, and the service is very rude. I have been there three times because someone talked me into it. Never again.
There are nice places to eat in Whitehorse. I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowisnotcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    70
    18
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprising gem in Canada's north”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I went here with a diverse group of work colleagues and we all love our meals. Despite the large servings, everyone's plate was completely empty by the end. The spicy prawns were a great appetizer and the chef adjusted each meal to our varying tolerance of "heat".

The brightly decorated atmosphere would convince most people that you were 3000 km further south. It is a small, intimate restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Intimate and friendly with excellent food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Small place which did not look remarkable from the outside but we went in because it had been recommended. We had no booking, the place is fairly small and it seemed pretty busy but the friendly staff quickly sorted out a table for us. Service was very good and the food excellent. Best Mexican flavours we experienced on this trip

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Muchos flavour”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently went to Sanchez Cantina with a couple of friends and had such a delicious meal, you HAVE to try the tacos they were so darn delicious! Even though it was really busy and we didn’t have a reservation, the friendly waitress managed to find us a table. The ambience was super and so was the guacamole (we ordered extra!) and the margaritas (my friend is pretty fussy when it comes to margaritas) were spot on. Sometimes I find Mexican food a bit heavy and greasy, but the fresh ingredients and home-style cooking meant that thankfully this was not the case. Make sure you swing by and check it out! Gracias Sanchez Cantina!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Real and delicious mexican food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been going to Sanchez Cantina since 2006, and I will keep going anytime the offer comes up. Relax atmoshere on outdoor deck looking at the Clay Cliffs, in the heart of the city. Expensive for the size of meals, lots of vegeterian option. Don`t miss this jewel when you come to Whitehorse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poirierstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanchez Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Sanchez Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing