We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Yukon Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Annie Lake Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annie Lake Cabins
Ranked #8 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Yukon Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Discovering Annie Lake Cabins was truly finding a gem in the Yukon. We went there from Hawaii hoping to experience the Aurora Borealis but the skies were cloudy, the moon was bright, and the activity was weak during our stay there and as a result, we never got to see any spectacle of color in the northern skies. You would think that we would be totally disappointed but we had the most enjoyable stay at Annie Lake Cabins. From the time that Mathieu picked us up in Whitehorse, we already knew it was going to be a great experience. He was so pleasant and informative about the area and it's history. Our dog sledding experience at Alayuk that Alexia arranged for us was an experience that will be long remembered. Everything was provided for us including transportation, warm clothes for mushing, and a great team of dogs with a sled. My son, my wife, and I each had our own team of dogs and sled. Marcel, who will compete in the Iditarod, was a great guide.
But best of all were the meals prepared by Alexia and the feeling of comfort in our cozy, private cabin. The relaxing conversations with Alexia during our meals made us feel like we were at home with a good friend. Visiting with their dogs (a lot) was also an experience as well as watching Mathieu getting his team hooked up to his sled for a practice run.
Missing the Aurora Borealis only gives us an excuse to visit Alexia and Mathieu at the Annie Lake Cabins again. We highly recommend anyone to stay at Annie Lake Cabins when visiting the Yukon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ksait0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia F, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Kathleen and Sanford,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you had a great time here with your son. You were amazing guests! I wish I could have spent many more nights talking with you. Mathieu and I are already waiting for you to come back, have another chance to see the Northern Lights and discover a little more of the wonderful Yukon. All the dogs send you a special and warm hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were at the grizzly cabin for three nights in winter. Grizzly cabin is the cabin furthest from the main building. The settings are marvelous over looking the valley. Truly it is a winter wonderland. During our stay we never see another person besides the hosts and the other guests. You can choose to socialize or be alone.
Alexia took special effort to cook. You should have at least one dinner if not all dinners with them. We had beef stewed with beans, vegetables etc. The taste was just delicious. We thought her a new word, "enak". It means more than tasty in Indonesian language. Alexia, keep cooking. In the morning we had fresh fruits, kiwi fruits, banana, berries etc plus yogurt, cereal etc etc. What a healthy and complete breakfast. By the way the coffee is always freshly brewed.
We left our camcorder bag in a near by dog sled cottage after we have left the cabins, Mathieu and Alexia took extra trouble to look for it and took it home for safe keeping. Looks like we have to knock at their door again which we are more than happy to revisit.
Both Mathieu and Alexia are extraordinary hosts.
Merci beaucoup Mathieu and Alexia. "Jumpa lagi". It means see you again in Malaysian language.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeLeeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia F, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much Diana and BeeLee for this wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you here and I am so happy that you loved the food. We are looking forward to having you here again. "Jumpa lagi"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The location and view are amazing! Like something out of a movie.

There are two cabins perched at the top of a valley that looks out to the river below and mountains on the horizon. The cabins are new and very clean. I stayed in the Lynx cabin. Really liked the modern design of the cabins and its interiors (it even comes with a rain shower!). Inside is very comfortable with everything you need for a cozy slumber.

I opted for the dinner option and very glad I did. Thanks to Alexia (the excellent host and chef), I got to taste wonderful French dishes and desserts in the middle of the "wilderness". During mealtimes we also got to chat with the host and the other guests, it was great fun!

At night it was completely dark and on a clear night I got to see to see the millions of stars that covered the skies. It was unreal!

Alexia and Mathieu, you guys are wonderful hosts and thank you for sharing your amazing place with us. I hope to visit you guys again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5t3v3_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia F, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you Stephen for this lovely review. It was really great chatting with two expert foodies like you and Evan. I hope to see you guys one day in Vancouver or Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We travelled from Australia to the Yukon & stayed at Annie's Lake Cabins for 4 days... we wish it was 365! This really is the place to stay if you are seeking breathtaking views, welcoming & personable hosts, very comfortable clean accommodation & delicious meals!

We had the space & privacy to enjoy a very isolated getaway (it is a perfect setting to do so), but we were also able to enjoy interacting with our hosts at meal times, their beautiful dogs during the day, & we even went for an easy scenic hike along the river with the other guests!

It was the best of both worlds.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Whitehorse...don't let this one pass you by!!

Thanks again to Alexia & Mathieu...you are awesome!! We wish we were still there :)

P.S. We really miss the dogs!! Special hello to Igor ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in the grizzly bear cabin which is the one furtherest away from the main house and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia F, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Everyone - two and four legged staff - really enjoyed having you here. We wish you could have stayed longer and are really looking forward to seeing you back here in the future. Have a great Christmas in Whistler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Annie Lake Cabins and had an amazing time. We loved everything: our cabin was very cozy, the food was delicious and the view is absolutely breathtaking. Thank you Alexia and Mathieu for your hospitality. Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia F, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice review Marina. We, too, are looking forward to seeing you back here next year for more good times and fun with the dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Gracious hosts, clean and comfortable accommodations and the location is beautiful. We were able to see the northern lights and the rooms have views of the sunrise. Don’t forget the delicious breakfast every morning! We had a lovely stay, the best part being, we could watch the northern lights, right from our “backyard”.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lillian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexiaFaivre, Owner at Annie Lake Cabins, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much Lillian for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and were able to see the Northern Lights! We hope to welcome you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
36.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
20.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast
11.6 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 28 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
31.4 mi away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#1 of 19 in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Lake Cabins

Property: Annie Lake Cabins
Address: Km 2.1 Annie Lake road - Hamlet of Mount Lorne, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 25 minutes from downtown Whitehorse – the capital city of the Yukon, Annie Lake Cabins Bed & Breakfast invites you to rest, play and relax in one of the Yukon's most stunning scenery. Whether you're a hiker, mountain biker, cross-country skier, photographer or gentle traveler, Annie Lake Cabins is the perfect accommodation for you.Experience the great outdoors without sacrificing comfort. If you want to connect with nature without roughing it, we have you covered: en suite washrooms, walk-in showers, fresh bed linens, ...Explore the amazing Yukon wilderness on your own or with one of our fully-licensed adventure tour partners. Pick from a large selection of activities and day trips and we'll customize your personalized package.Bring your smile and desire to discover the Yukon, we'll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annie Lake Cabins Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing