We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile seeing”
Review of Emerald Lake

Emerald Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$229.00*
and up
Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
827 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Worthwhile seeing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Emerald Lake was neat to see but again the tour buses caused some unpleasantness because people were stepping in front of us as we tried to take pictures of the beauty without having people in them. the good news is they were herded up and the bus left but 2 minutes later another appeared. The scenery is great and we're glad we made the drive from Skagway to Whitehorse and back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    47
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“wonderful if the weather is good”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

there was a complete reflection of the mountain in the lake - made for wonderful photos - we stayed quite awhile to look at this - the colours are great - this is something to investigate how and why before you get there

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A gem outside of Whitehorse”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A jewel of a lake on the route to Skagway. A definite short trip if you cannot get all the way to Skagway but only go on a clear sunny day otherwise the view could disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“It's a dime a dozen in this part of the world”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you haven't seen bluish, greenish water like in the Caribbean, Rockies etc, then this could be a special place for you, but in my opinion this is a lake which only gets fan fare because it is a stop on the way for tours or people who need to stretch their legs. I would never recommend a special trip to see emerald lake, but if you're in the area and want to go, try to make sure the sun is shining on the lake during your viewing or it will be indiscernible from any other lake. If you're interested in this sort of thing, but don't want to see anything else in this area, I recommend going to Kluane National Park where many lakes share these characteristics and there is much more nature and activities to wrap yourself up in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hit this on a day trip from our cruise ship. Absolutely beautiful. Our bus driver said the color was from glacial water. I think that water might have evaporated in 10000 years. It's glacial marl at the bottom. There's one area that's brown where people apparently swam.

There are no facilities at all for this. It's just a parking area off the road above the lake. Certainly worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Lake also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing