We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was so impressed”

Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre
Ranked #14 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the banks of the Yukon River, the Cultural Centre is a place where we celebrate the heritage and contemporary way of life of the Kwanlin Dun First Nation people. It is also a gathering place for people of all cultures. The vision of the Cultural Centre is to revive, preserve, and demonstrate our language, practices, values and traditional way of life for the benefit of Kwanlin Dun people. We also want to share our culture with other First Nations and people from around the world.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I was so impressed”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I loved looking at the architecture and wooden structures.
And the wonderful display of handmade aboriginal dolls was fascinating.
It would be a wonderful location for any larger function.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ivoryandebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was here for a conference and the setting and building are beautiful. My only complaint,ain't was the acoustics weren't great in the main hall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashtazcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just open and very beautiful”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a beautiful center and as they continue to add artifacts, it will become one of the most important gems in the region. I would suggest this for business meetings, weddings or gatherings as they have amazing meeting space built into the museum. Visit their resident artist. I watched him carve for a long while and found it very relaxing. Good Job.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The centre is located right on the river; great views/access. It has two very large rooms that are great for large gatherings of up to 300 people. The acoustics are good. Architecturally, the building is very interesting and has a lodge feel to it. It's a great resource for the Aboriginal community and provides employment for dozens of First Nation men and women who obviously work very hard at the centre. Currently, a local community group is making a very large totem pole behind the centre. When completed, it will be installed in a place of prominence elsewhere in Whitehorse. Drop by and talk with the artists as they are very friendly and proud to tell you of their work on this exciting project. While there, pick up a few wood chips as a souvenir of this important local art project.

The public library is located adjacent to the centre, a perfect complement to Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brand new!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Support needed to help the local Athapascans get this museum(cultural center) -filled and rolling--Very nice to see a renewal!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Turkey2Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre also viewed

 

Been to Kwanlin Dun Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing