We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Whitehorse Fishway

Whitehorse Fishway
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found the fish ladder very interesting. The staff was very knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions. We saw the Graylings but were too early to view the salmon. A donation was very reasonable entrance fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosewoodacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
771 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Visit”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hubby and I had seen a fish ladder in Alaska but this one was far more interesting. It would have been nice to have seen salmon but they would not arrive until August. We were able to view Graylings through the underwater window. The displays inside the interpretation centre were interesting and informative as was the staff. Any questions we had were answered with friendly responses. The wood walkways leading around the fishway were dotted with interesting information about the salmon and the fishway history. We spent about an hour for a small donation of $3.00 each and enjoyed the experience. Spend some time watching the Kittiwakes float down towards the spillway and take flight just before going over.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The tour was very informative. No one in our group had ever seen a fish ladder or knew how they worked. Lots of good displays inside the building and good views outside. Too bad the salmon weren't running yet.
No admision charge, but they do request donations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice Point of Interest”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was too early in the season to see the salmon on the Whitehorse Fishway. However, it was cool to see how the system was constructed and operated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmericanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“exciting”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I find it exciting to see the salmon that have traveled from such a great distance across Alaska and the Yukon to get here and are still fighting to go another 50 - 100 miles before spawning.

Helpful?
1 Thank dottiedolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehorse Fishway also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Whitehorse Fishway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing