We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, but the Showers got to go.”

Takhini Hot Springs
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$113.30*
and up
Arctic Day: Yukon Wildlife and Hot Springs Tour
Ranked #8 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Takhini Hot Springs offers a range of recreational activities in every season of the year. You can soak, swim and relax in the natural mineral waters of two connected hot pools. If you want to stay for the night, there is a separate wooded campground and easily accessible RV sites nearby (yukoncampgroun,com).You can see the rugged beauty of the land from a network of walking/x-country ski trails. Takhini Hot Springs is just 30 kilometres (18 miles) north of Whitehorse, about a 25-minute drive from downtown Whitehorse. Please bring your indoor footwear such as flip flops or crocs to wear in the change rooms. Please be advised that there are no kids after dark allowed in the pool! We hope you visit us!
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but the Showers got to go.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

From what we were told the whole resort is under new management. The camp ground is owned separate and the hot springs are leased by other people and the restaurant is yet a separate identity.

We see that there is a lot of work being done in the campground and hopefully some will be done on the hot springs as well.

The water in the two pools are very nice and warm. The pool, the grounds and inside of the building looks a bit tired.

The showers got to go! You have to pull on a rope (like really hard) for the water to come, as soon as you let go, it stops. My wife said she could barely pull hard enough to make it run and only one of the two showers in the women's change room worked.

The water in the shower is also only one temperature and way to hot, uncomfortable in both our opinions and many of the other people as well.

The price was reasonable and you get a discount if you stay at the campground or senior discount if applicable.

You need flip-flops or crooks to wear in the change room / shower and out to the pool. You can bring your towel, clothing etc. with you out to the pool area or bring a pad lock for the locker. They will lend you a lock for your car keys as security.

We never visited the restaurant, but the menu looked good.

I'm sure things will improve over the next few years.

It was worth it to get to soak for a while.

Hope that helps.

Cheers, Anders

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    165
    90
    25
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the experience, campground good ”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Not too much offered at campground would have loved a water option. However... Camping is camping. So its good. And rates are good. Now to the springs.

It's no laird hotsprings. It's very much a tourist hotspot that has been manufactured... So it's not really a nature experience.. HOWEVER... Its an amazing experience, one that must be had. Definitely go do it. Very clean spring water naturally hot and replaced everyday. My 2 and 4 year old absolutely love it. And it's a great relaxing swim. A must must, must if you are visiting Whitehorse. We still go at least once a month (from carmacks) camp over night and swim throughout the day.

Do it.

Helpful?
Thank marshal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Enjoyed our stay very much! Campsite was large, clean, quiet and nicely treed. We loved it. So peaceful and relaxing. We took a few hikes behind on the small mountain behind campsite. Such a beautiful view from top. Hot pools were the perfect temperature. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“camping and relaxing”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

just spent 3 days camping at the hot springs. The camp grounds accommodate both RV's and tent sites. There is a picnic table and fire pit at each site. Outhouses are spaced throughout the property and are clean and mostly odor free. There is a potable water facet but the water has lots of minerals in it and gives it a off taste to it. You can purchase firewood from the campsite off for $6 for a bundle of firewood that you will have to split yourself. Campsite manager was very friendly and accommodating. The hot springs have not really changed in many years but I guess they have plans to make modifications to it. Be warned that this is a outdoor hot springs and during the summer it will be full of dead bugs despite the constant cleaning of the pool and emptying it every evening there are still tons of bugs floating around in the water. There is a creperie right there in the main building at the hot springs. The crepes are good but over priced and despite the sign saying the close at 10 pm they shut down the kitchen at 9:30 pm. Over all a great place to stay at and go play in Whitehorse and other parts of the area or just a one night stop. Can't be the price point and the scenery, oh and dog approved as well !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gear_guy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for the soul”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Soaking in the outdoor pools, hearing the wind in the trees and watching the local wildlife... feeling all the road trip stress wash away. I look forward to visiting again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank arcticcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takhini Hot Springs also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Takhini Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing