We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MacBride Museum”
Review of MacBride Museum

MacBride Museum
Ranked #3 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your Yukon adventure starts here! From Gold Rush fever to the birth of Whitehorse, the MacBride Museum gives the best and most entertaining overview of the colorful characters and groundbreaking events that built Canada's Yukon. Fun for the whole family, gold panning and historical skits daily during the summer months. Open all year.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“MacBride Museum”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

was amazing with inside and outside displays. Good displays on dogsled racing, North West Mounted Police, early people....We were there for almost 2hrs..so much to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyDJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacBride M, Public Relations Manager at MacBride Museum, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Kelly,
We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking the time to rate us.
Sincerely,
Leighann from MacBride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    104
    17
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great little museum, with First Nations history, natural history and exhibits of indigenous animals, mining samples, machinery, and all things Klondike. It is laid out in an interesting and informative way with even an opportunity to try a little "panning" in the summer months. Definitely worth the price of admission, be sure to pick up your "tourist" parking pass first as those pesky meters are annoying.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank redjanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacBride M, Public Relations Manager at MacBride Museum, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon.
Leighann at MacBride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Whitehorse”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

One of the best museums ever visited. We usually make it a point to visit local museums to learn more about the area visited. So much to see in such a limited space. Absolutely loved the Sam McGee cabin and story.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacBride M, Public Relations Manager at MacBride Museum, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Sandra,
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.
Leighann at MacBride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Local lore”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I give this attraction a 3 because of the opening hours!
The museum closes at 4PM so you have to get there at least by 3 to see what they have collected.

A longer opening time would be advantageous!
Appears to be interesting from what I could see through dirty windows!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacBride M, Public Relations Manager at MacBride Museum, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Ian,
We're sorry to hear that we were not open when you came to see the museum. We are a medium-sized regional museum that is run by a non-profit society. We do our best to accommodate all of our visitors (and potential visitors) but we must move to fall and winter hours, which are 10am-4pm Tuesday to Saturday, as of September 1. We also may be able to offer extended visiting hours if visitors call ahead (867-667-2709 x4). We hope that you will be able to come back on your next trip to Whitehorse.
Sincerely, Leighann from MacBride Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacygne, Ks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice place to see”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Worth the time. The people behind the front desk were very friendly and knowledgeable. Interesting things to see. I recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacBride M, Public Relations Manager at MacBride Museum, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Beverly,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Whitehorse, and we hope to see you back at the museum in the future.
Sincerely,
Leighann from MacBride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacBride Museum also viewed

 

Been to MacBride Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing