We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful staff, great museum

The woman on duty was exceptionally helpful, absolutely made my day. Loads of information and good... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Clare H
,
Vancouver, Canada
New extension to the Museum

This new extension has really added to the depth of the museum. Love the animal display and so do... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Warren P
Read all 459 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Whitehorse
from $105.25
More Info
from $1,304.62
More Info
from $545.84
More Info
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
249
144
28
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
144
28
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold rush stuffed animals gold panning pan for gold sam mcgee interesting artifacts alcan highway great overview on display many aspects robert service first nations natural history early days lots of history great exhibits gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The woman on duty was exceptionally helpful, absolutely made my day. Loads of information and good displays, definitely remember to go up to the 2nd floor and check out the Land and Light Collection - the Ted Harrison Collection was a highlight for me.

Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This new extension has really added to the depth of the museum. Love the animal display and so do my kids.

Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The new part of the museum contains stunning blown glass icicles - it's worth the visit just to see the. The museum appears to be trying to link it's older sections with the new and is making good progress. The display of Yukon animals is very well done.

Thank SueBrian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Museum gives you a glimpse into a bygone era and the hardships faced by its residents. There are many interesting exhibits.

Thank cfd227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Macbride seems to have recently had some renovations and extensions to their exhibits. We really enjoyed our visit and learned a lot about the Alaska highway - we didn’t know it had such an interesting history!

This was a great place the learn about the Yukon, and the video playing on the main floor is definitely worth taking the time to stop and watch for awhile.

Thank lferobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here 6 years ago and was interested to see the new additions. We spend hours on the first visit reading and taking in the history. The museum seems to be in transition as some of the exhibits we saw before are not yet on display. What we saw of the Gold Rush and animal collection was good (as before), but we really enjoyed the addition of the Ted Harrison exhibit (wished it was larger) and the First Nations display on the second floor.

Thank lawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very interesting photos on display from the Gold Rush era and also many showing the construction of the Alaska Highway.

Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

This museum is your induction and orientation to the Yukon , a magic and spiritual place . The Mcbride is full of nuggets of history from the gold rush, First Nation people through to modern day .

There is a collection of stuffed animals you would expect to see in the wild . This is includes Alex van Bibbers albino moose , war time memoirs and plenty of tales about Skookum Jim and the gold rush crew .

The museum has recently had an impressive upgrade and multi million pound extension.

This visit will shape your travels and stay in the Yukon. Go visit and enjoy your stay .

Thank richadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

I liked this museum, the display of local wildlife via taxidermy may not be for everyone but it was well presented.
The running film telling a descendant’s family connection to the gold rush was of fair quality and an interesting watch.
There was an excellent display of art work by a local painter on the top floor that I particularly liked.

Thank rogerjkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

There are a variety of exhibits, and it is amazing to hear the guide recite "The Cremation of Sam McGee" by heart. The most absorbing exhibit for me was that on the building of the Alcan, which is downstairs.

Thank Heathwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews