We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Yukon Transportation Museum
Ranked #11 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A Moving Experience. True Yukon stories live here. Come & experience big, impressive modes of transportation – dramatic, authentic, and personal stories of Yukon ingenuity & self-sufficiency. Group tours welcome.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

While in Whitehorse we visited the Yukon Transportation Museum and found it very well presented and interesting. It cost $12 for 2 adults. It certainly portrayed a well documented history of the use of transport in the Yukon and had many varied displays. You can easily spend a couple of hours here, depends on your interests.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    59
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
429 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,667 helpful votes
“World's largest weathervane - a DC-3!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Unfortunately, we just did not have time to go inside here. Long story but we had to make it another two hours down the road before stopping for the night.

However, we were able to take a few minutes to look at the outside exhibits. The "crown jewel" has to be the weathervane that's a real plane!

This is an old DC-3 that was in service in the Yukon and far north during the 1960's. It was put up as the weathervane in 1981, taken down and restored in the late 1990's and remounted in 2001.

It takes only a slight breeze to move the plane and the nose always faces into the wind. It is a truly amazing experience to be standing under the plane's wings when the breeze shifts. I could hear a slight creaking noise, and sure enough, the plane slowly rotated so the nose faced into the breeze. It must be incredible to see when the wind is blowing hard and rapidly shifting direction!

There were several other outside exhibits - old logging and mining equipment and an old boat over in a side yard. I did see something huge that I later learned is called a "sno-train" and is being restored. I felt bad that we did not have the time to see all the inside exhibits.

Next time I'll be sure to plan more time to visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really interesting place!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I wish I knew it existed earlier. Lots to see and learn. Great replicas. It is also a place that you can rent for special occasions, ie. weddings.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank kerian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
247 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Two for one”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The history of the Alaska highway comes to life with the insight into the brilliant lives of the daring Bush pilots. There is a 2 for 1 ticket set for the Beringia Museum next door. Dont trip over the giant beaver on the way over.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank princesscruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“If you have an hour to kill...”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Yukon transportation was interesting and informative, although all throughout the tour I felt like I was missing something. It's not that it's not well presented, but I didn't feel like the museum went in depth enough into many of it's subjects. I felt like I was getting a travel-book overview of a couple hundred years of Yukon history...Okay as a starter... but not completely satisfying.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Montravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yukon Transportation Museum also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Yukon Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing