We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities, not so nice owner”

The Caribou RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Caribou RV Park
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This RV park is right on the outskirts of town, and it has relativity all positive reviews. The private bathrooms were clean and worked well for a couple to finally get a nice shower together. Upon arrival I checked in with the RV park's owner Martin. He was a bit harsh to speak with, he honestly seemed very annoyed to be doing business in the evening hours (he had to come down from his house above the bathrooms and is handicapped). When I asked if his WiFi worked he informed me that it did, in those words. After being rushed through payment he then handed me a info sheet for the internet. Apparently I had very limited usage, 30MB within 24 hours. So yes, his WiFi worked, but under very strict terms.
I checked my email, banking, Facebook and was off within 30 minutes. I then typed a resume in Word, and in the morning needed to email it (the whole reason for staying there) and the internet was not working. I approached Martin, he asked for my IP address which I gave him, and he came down to tell me I had used 3X the allotted amount - 90MB. I felt bad because he had already lectured me like a child the day before at check in about not going over the limit. I apologized for doing so. Once again he heavily lectured me for letting background programs run on my computer. I then told Martin that before he sells a spot at his RV park he should post his internet limits/rules for guests to see before paying. He said and I quote,"Then I would lose you as a customer."
Go another 10 minutes down the road to the next RV park, there are more trees and it looked much more pleasant. I immediately wished we had stayed there instead upon passing it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mattie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a fifth wheel and traveling with another rig. Out of town by about 10 miles. We really liked the location. It was treed and had walking paths. It was very clean and the owners are wonderful. There Is a restaurant within walking distance that is excellent and accommodated a person with Celiac Disease. We are planning to stay with them again in August when we head back down from Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

In June 2010, four of us in 2 5th wheels arrived in Whitehorse to discover that our reserved spaces in another rv park had been given away. Tired and now aggravated we headed down the highway to the Caribou. What a pleasant surprise! The people could not have been nicer - in no time we were set up in treed sites with great water pressure and electric. The campground was spotless, the showers spotless and the laundry clean, reasonable and everything worked. We stayed two days longer than planned just because it was such a nice place. We stayed there again on our return trip, and vowed we would be back. Last week we pulled in and Martin recognized us! We had the pleasure of meeting the utterly lovely Jackie, his brand new wife whose influence is already obvious in Martin's beaming smile. Caribou is the only place we'll ever stay in Yukon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed the Park very much, very convenient to local services. Best attribute was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner/operators, they couldn’t have been better. Liked it so much we stayed an extra day. No trouble at all getting in and out with 40 foot 5th wheel behind one ton long box full crew cab diesel truck, 65 feet in total length. Park was immaculately clean all the time. Cannot understand why anyone would have anything negative to say about this park. One must remember that this is a northern Canadian somewhat remote location that doesn’t have the infrastructure for all the most modern connivances conducive to only major centres. We personally think it was just great and will most certainly stay again when in area. Thank-you guys so much for a great stay.

Room Tip: Pull through sites are great for large rigs like ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank tomtom956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Wladimir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
7.6 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
84 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
674 reviews
7.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
196 reviews
7.7 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
458 reviews
5.2 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Whitehorse
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caribou RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caribou RV Park

Address: Alaska Highway, Km 1403, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitehorse
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caribou RV Park 3*
Also Known As:
The Caribou RV Park Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing