We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn On The Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn On The Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went with friends for a 1 night getaway from the kids. Beautiful location right on Marsh lake (don't worry, not marsh-like). You can rent skis or borrow snowshoes - we didn't go though because it was too windy.

A nice log lodge with a cabin on one side. The rooms are cozy and the beds are a bit too firm for my liking. There is a central dining/lounge area that was comfortable.The hot tub overlooking the lake is lovely. The four-course dinner was excellent.

Be aware that food is not included in the price of the room. My friend only ate a bowl of cereal for breakfast and was charged $12 for it. The breakfast selection was cereal, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, and a selection of cold cuts and cheese.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitehorseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    24
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
65
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My friend the intrepid Nancy B (the B) and I visited the Inn on the lLake in search of the elusive northern lights this past February. The lights were indeed elusive -- we caught a glimpse on our first night but there was naught for the next four. Frankly, it didn't matter. We loved pretty much everything about the Inn -- from the homey great room with plenty of deep armchairs to sink into to the four course dinners lovingly prepared by the Inn chefs. Carson (the owner) has created a place where guests feel ilke they are in their own home -- and that is quite a trick. I've blogged a bit more about the Inn and the adventures that await you if you choose to go at http://theworldawaitsme.blogspot.com/2012/02/yukon-impressions.html. I plan to go back some day soon -- not just because I have yet to see the magical lights but because it will be like going to my home away from home up in the wilderness of the Yukon Territory.

Room Tip: In the winter, you want to be on the street side of Inn for best monitoring of the lights from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We came to see the Aurora but although we only caught a glimpse on the last night, we still had the most amazing experience in the Yukon, thanks to the hospitality of the staff, the serenity of the location, the quality of the lodge and the food and the general atmosphere created by everyone associated with the Lodge. Beautiful scenery and the snowmobiling, ice fishing, dog sledding, snow-shoeing and generally isolated feel really made it a unique and brilliant experience.

Would love to return in either winter or summer, and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Room (north facing) or Fireweed Cottage are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We did the 3 night winter package over Christmas and loved it! The lodge is beautiful and elegantly decorated yet the atmosphere is casual and homey. All the staff and guides were helpful and the food was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

The Inn on the Lake is not your typical hotel. It's rustic and casual and amazing. If you're looking for five-star service and belies of maids and concierges, this is not your cup of tea. If you're content with beautiful, spotless rooms, fantastic food, and friendly, personal service in a stunning setting you'll love Inn on the Lake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have lived in Yukon for four years but have never visited Inn on the Lake. Last weekend we had a Christmas party and the experience was fantastic. The facility, staff treatment, and gourmet meal were all outstanding. My wife and I also booked a room and stayed the night. I would describe the room and the Inn as Rustic Elegance. The building itself and all the classy decorating made one feel very special. This accompanied by cold Yukon scenery made for a perfect stay. Even though the Inn for us is close to home we will definitely go again for a weekend getaway. Very Impressed! Thank you! Jim Wilson.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Presidential Suite. Very special indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Inn on the Lake is a wonderful, cozy place to stay when visiting the Yukon. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, the staff is warm and friendly, and the food is outstanding -- better than in many "gourmet" restaurants we've eaten in. Although it's only yards from the Alaska Highway, there's hardly any traffic, so the location is quiet and peaceful; most of the time, the only sounds are the wind and the waves gently lapping against the Marsh Lake shore. And when the aurora cooperates (as it did, spectacularly, when we were there in October), the Inn is a perfect place to see it from.

The guests come from around the world -- a family from Texas was there when we arrived, and others from Japan, the US, Canada and Australia (hi, Toni F!) came during the course of our stay. Everyone is relaxed and friendly there, making for great conversations over meals or just sitting in the large sitting area overlooking the lake.

A car is a must to get around, and getting around is definitely worth it. There are many, many places to visit and sights to see in the Yukon that you won't see anywhere else. The nearby town of Whitehorse is definitely worth visiting, especially to pick up that cold weather gear you forgot to bring or didn't thing you needed. :)

We plan on returning to explore more of the Yukon, and we will most definitely stay at the Inn again when we're there.

Room Tip: The Duck and Fish rooms and Jacuzzi suite are outstanding rooms for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
28.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
40.3 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
28.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
28.3 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
29.0 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On The Lake

Property: Inn On The Lake
Address: Lot 76 Mcclintock | PO Box 10420, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 7A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn On The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Whitehorse
Inn On The Lake Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing