We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Accomidation/Wonderful Hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Northern Lights Resort and Spa was an important part of our special vacation to the Yukon. We purposely picked accomidation out of town so we had a better chance of seeing those Northern Lights and we were not disappointed! The lights were amazing to see and the resort was more than we expected! Although about 20km out of Whitehorse, it was easy and straight-forward to drive to the property.

The Cabin enzion was very clean, the bed comfortable, the small kitchenette convenient, and it was nicely decorated. Other appreciated details include the free wifi, satallite TV, a heater in the bathroom, and a front window which faces the mountains. The jucuzzi hot tub, just outside, was awesome to use after a day of sightseeing.

For convenience we chose a package which included supper and breakfast. Everything was very tasty and nicely presented with a European flare. One evening Renate made the best apple pie I have ever tasted!!! Another time she wowed us with a soufle. Wolfgang's breakfasts were filling with a selection of fresh breads, cheese, meat, egg (ask for a demonstration to crack the shell) yogurt and all the coffee I desired!

My husband was suddenly and unexpectly wheelchair bound before we arrived and the owners could not do enough for him. Wolfgang would push him to/from the cabin, special arrangements were made for him to eat at the table with the other guests and the cabin was arranged to make it easier to accomidate the wheelchair. Renate and Wolfgang went way beyond what we expected to make our visit comfortable and enjoyable. We are grateful and appreciative for all their help. We noticed that they were thoughtful and helpful with all their guests.

Overall, I can strongly recommend this wonderful accomidation, just outside of Whitehorse. We spent our 25th anniversary here on a 5 day vacation and wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book early. There are only 3 cabins and one room available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Susanne & Normand, Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you had an amazing time with us and could celebrate your 25th anniversary at our place. We are also happy that you saw the Northern Lights and it was a great pleasure for us to make your stay comfortable. We hope Normand will be well soon and it would be wonderful to see you both coming back to the Yukon sometimes. All our best wishes, Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Northern Lights Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 462 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me & my wife just spent 3 nights in the resort(family owned) The owner Wolfgang do a good job to maintain the condition of the resort while his wife Renate is really good in cooking. Although the food in all 3 dinners were not attractive, like "beef stew" !!
But that is the best beef stew I've tasted. (I still don't like beef stew, but that was from my high school, which is irrelevant)
I'm a city person who just expected to see northern light, but the sky isn't cooperating, very disappointed.
Overall, trip was not good but being fair the resort is good: comfy bad, spcious shower box, adequate TV channels.....can use more lamps though...
If you're city person, you may not like here ; but if you like nature or like to feel nature & to see norther light(much better chance in winter time) you will not regret your decision of choosing this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kocusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Vivien & Emile, thank you very much for your review. We take all reviews very seriously and it is important for us to learn from it. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our dinner menus, especially with the "Hungarian Gulasch". But we are happy you found the cabin comfortable and overall liked the Resort and we appreciate that you would still recommend us to other guests! Kind Regards, Wolfgang & Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had an excellent trip to the Yukon. The Northern Lights and Spa was fantastic. The Cabin was VERY CLEAN, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was very nice too! Renate and Wolfgang were wonderful hosts and had great tips on what to do and see in Whitehorse. I was blessed to view the Northern Lights during my stay. However, the lights are just part of the beautiful experience of the Yukon. This was one of the best vacations I have been on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribeth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Maribeth, thank you so much for staying with us and the wonderful review. We are glad you saw the Northern Lights and had a great time in the Yukon. It was a great pleasure to be your hosts ! Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful and unforgettable holiday at the Northern Lights Resort & Spa from September 16 to 19. We took advantage of their fall aurora viewing package which included three nights' accommodation with breakfast and dinner. All six of us are well seasoned travelers but we all agreed that this was the best lodging experience we ever had.

The hosts: Renate and Wolfgang are professional and thoughtful hosts who went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. In fact, from the moment they greeted us at the door, we felt like old friends already. Their service was impeccable and nothing was too much to ask. Wolfgang gave us some excellent ideas for our road trips and great tips on photographing the northern lights.

The cabins: The six of us took up all three cabins which are all clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. There is satellite TV, free WiFi, a fireplace and even a heater in the bathroom which has all the necessary toiletries. The kitchen is well-stocked with a microwave and a fridge and one of the cabins (the Enzian) even has a cook-top/oven. We were, however, most impressed with the small touches: the warm fuzzy slippers, the torchlight for walking outdoors at night, the bottled water they replenish every day, and the throw blankets for sitting out on the porch. The cabins are all positioned to take full advantage of the unobstructed views of the mountains and you can just sit on the porch which has a table and lounge chairs to admire the scenery and the northern lights.

The food: Renate's dinners were something we looked forward to every day. It is a three-course meal which changes daily - we had pork loin the first night, salmon the second (the best I ever had!) and schnitzel the last. One of our friends is lactose intolerant and Renate prepared special sauces and desserts just for him. Wolfgang's breakfast of freshly baked bread, cereal, yoghurt, cheese and cold cuts was also very satisfying and we all enjoyed his neat little trick with the egg cracker - German technology at its best, haha! We also loved coming back to the main lodge for a hot coffee at the end of a road trip.

Aurora viewing: We didn't have very good weather but just when we almost gave up on Lady Aurora, she finally graced us with an appearance on our last night there. Although she was not overly active we counted ourselves extremely fortunate to have made her acquaintance. It also helped that the cabins are far away from the downtown light pollution and that Wolfgang is thoughtful enough to keep the grounds dark so you can see the lights better. We were also lucky that it was the eve of the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival, and we had the full moon to admire even when Lady Aurora hid from us.

This has truly been one of the best vacations we have ever had. Now we understand why this resort is consistently ranked #1 and why there have been no negative reviews. It may cost a little more than your average B & B but you will get your money's worth. Make sure you book with Wolfgang and Renate when you're planning a trip to the Yukon. You won't be sorry!

Road Trip Tips: Plan a day trip driving down the South Klondike Road which is just five minute from the resort. Emerald Lake at the 118 Km marker is a water version of the Northern Lights and a sight not to be forgotten. Further down at the Km 108 marker is Carcross Desert which is the smallest desert in the world. The town of Carcross is touristy but a nice stop for lunch. The South Klondike will take you all the way down to Skagway but you can decide how far you want to go. The scenery at this time of the year is breathtaking with the lovely fall colors, particularly at the Bove Island Viewpoint at the 95 Km marker.

Room Tip: All three cabins are just as comfortable and well positioned for the northern lights, but if you nee...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamadig2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Monica, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it makes us feel embarrassed. We are only trying to do our best and when we have such wonderful guests like you and your friends it is even much easier and so much fun to be hosts. Thank you so much for everything.There is nothing that can make us more happy than knowing our guests had a wonderful time with us and that we have made new friends. We are looking forward to see you again. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the Lupine cabin. Friends stayed in the Enzian cabin. The Lupine was finished less than a month ago. The cabin is beautiful and spacious. We had two young boys (a three year old and a one year old), and there was plenty of space for them to play. The three year old preferred to be out exploring the surroundings most of the time anyway. Cabin had everything we needed, including a small kitchenette with cutlerry, microwave, fridge, kettle and toaster. Well heated with fireplace and three heaters, including one in the bathroom. Nice outdoor verandah with table and chairs to sit and enjoy the scenery. The highlight for us, however, was the exceptional service. From the moment we were picked up from the airport to the moment we were dropped off, the service was friendly and professional. Everything was done with a smile and nothing was too much to ask. Wolfgang and Renate are very genuine people who truly made us feel like guests rather than customers. Thank you for making this a very memorable experience and thank you for being so good to our two boys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Lan & John, Thank you so much for staying with us, it was wonderful to have you and your kids here, you were so amazing guests and we are looking forward to see you sometime again. We already miss Chris and Daniel. Even if there was only a little bit of Northern Lights, sitting in the chairs on the deck under the phenomenal northern Night Sky is a very special experience. Wolfgang & Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Northern Lights Resort and Spa with our friends and their two young children in 2 cabins. Wolfgang and Renate were wonderful hosts who went to great effort to ensure that everyone, including the children, had an enjoyable time. Renate is a great cook, and we looked forward to her delicious 3 course dinners every evening. The cabins are cosy and comfortable, and the perfect setting for Aurora viewing. We were extremely fortunate to to have Wolfgang and Renate as our hosts and also to see some low activity Aurora on our last evening! We have travelled a bit over the years, this is my favourite accommodation so far. We are hoping to return in the future, I already miss the 360 views of the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Angela & Stephen, Thank you so much for staying with us, you were so wonderful guests and we are looking forward to see you again in the Yukon (Winter ?). Even if the Northern Lights was not so strong, Stephen took amazing pictures of the Lights and the phenomenal Northern Night Sky. Take care and have a wonderful vacation in Canada and in Europe, Wolfgang & Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Northern Lights Resort & Spa is the best lodging experience I have had in my travels of the western hemisphere and one of the top in the world when you consider the overall value.

Wolfgang is a flexible, professional host whom is a pleasure to deal with. He has positioned all accommodations perfectly so that you can view the sky from inside your cottage, on the porch or by walking around on the grassy field in front. The grounds are very spacious, safe and again well thought out.

Even though the weather was very poor and the aurora was not overly active, we still managed to see a little of the lights during our 3 night stay. This was largely possible because of the thoughtfulness of Wolfgang as he keeps the grounds dark and your eyes well situated on an obstruction free horizon through the perfect layout of the facility.

There is a reason why all reviews of this resort are perfect. It is well earned and something you should consider strongly when you're planning your trip to the Yukon.

This is the place to stay for the discerning traveler wanting a stress free experience during their quest to see the northern lights.

Room Tip: Stay here as long as you can during your trip as you will not find a better host and nicer accommoda...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you Satoko & Lyle for your wonderful review, it was a great pleasure to be your hosts. Glad you saw the Lights at least little bit. We are looking forward to see you again in the Yukon. Wolfgang & Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
11.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
339 reviews
17.6 mi away
Inn On The Lake
Inn On The Lake
#4 of 19 in Whitehorse
140 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Address: Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range: $154 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests, fields and mountain ranges, this stunning purpose-built property could be your home away from home. Northern Lights Resort & SPA is more than a B&B, it is an escape from the hustle and bustle and demands of 21st century living without compromising on the comfort. Come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams. We are perfectly located just 25 Kilometers south of Whitehorse, a little piece of paradise with spa / wellness area featuring a finish sauna, infrared sauna, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym room and massage treatments. We offer B&B accommodation and Resort style "All-Inclusive" Summer and Winter Packages with activities, healthy European style food and free Wi-Fi. Your perfect Yukon location for Northern Lights viewing with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Northern Lights Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Resort & Spa Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing