We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to view the Northern Lights !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place to view the Northern Lights !”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

For anyone wishing to experience the Northern Lights, or even simply unwind in a peaceful and beautiful part of the world, there couldn't possibly be any better way than to stay at Wolfgang & Renate's wonderful property just outside of Whitehorse.

The cabins are perfectly situated with a view to the north over the large open field, allowing you to head in and out at your leisure to view the lights at any time of the night (and they can often appear much later than the 10pm-2am window the bus tours take you out for !) then retreat back into the comfort of the very warm and well appointed cabins.

The hospitality is wonderful your made very welcome the moment you arrive and Wolfgang does his best to provide anything you might need. The breakfasts and meals were also lovely and a nice time to spend chatting to your cabin neighbors about the lights or other activities you might have done.

Whilst we were there the aurora activity was low (Kp = 1 out of 10) but even at this level we were still treated to a lively display just above the mountains, and the long exposure photos taken were truly spectacular. Heading back into Whitehorse later in the week for a couple of nights stay in town the lights were getting stronger (Kp = 2/3) and though they were just visible from downtown, oh how I wished I had stayed those extra couples of nights out at the cabin for a much better view !

Though the Enzian cabin could have had a little more room for our heavy luggage, we did love that the cabin had an oven and stove to allow us to cook when we stayed indoors. In most all other respects the cabins were outstanding and very comfortable regardless of the temperature outside - and let me say for anyone worried about the cold, -20C on a still clear day or night felt warmer than -7C with windchill when we were walking around back in town.

We've come away with truly wonderful memories of our stay and am already thinking about the next trip to go back and spend even more time at the resort !

Room Tip: Enzian Cabin has a stove and oven for cooking yourself. Other cabin only has microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Adrian, we would like to thank you so much for staying at our new Resort and for the opportunity to be your hosts. It was a great pleasure for us meeting you, you were amazing guests. We hope to see you soon again in the beautiful Yukon. Renate and Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
266
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There are times when you can write a review about a hotel where you have obvious comments to make, whether it be about the amenities or location. For me, I do not have the words to do Renate & Wolfgang's resort justice. The previous 47 reviews, all rated as excellent, do a fantastic job of giving you the right impressions and details about NLR&S - they were what enticed me to stay. For me, I can only add this: I felt like I was staying with the best of friends who totally blew me away at every step of the stay. Do not think twice about including Northern Lights Resort & Spa for your Yukon adventures - you won't regret it! Also: reserve early!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancityRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Northern Lights Resort & Spa. The owners, Wolfgang and Renate Bublitz, made every effort to create one of the most memorable vacations for us. We stayed at one of their super cozy woodlog cabins with an open fireplace. Renate made wonderful home-cooked meals and gave extremely relaxing and very professional massages. Wolfang used his local connections to arrange for us dogsledding at the last minute and acted as a very knowledgable guide and source of good advice as to what to do in Whitehorse and the Yukon. We felt well taken care off by everything he arranged for us. We enjoyed the solitude of the resort, which is about 20 min by car from town. It provided also a better opportunity to see the northern lights. Wolfgang was always willing to drive us into town at a moments notice. In sum, we thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to spend 4 days of excellent German hospitality in the Yukon. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Mary-Ellen, thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to be your hosts. We are glad we could have been part of your Yukon experience (especially dog-sledding !!!). We hope to see you soon again. Wolfgang & Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A beautiful part of the world, made all the more memorable and enjoyable by Wolfgang and Renate. Their luxury B&B provided a comfortable, friendly and relaxing base to enjoy our trip to the Yukon. We enjoyed the home cooked meals, and valued the helpful advice provided. When we make it back up to Whitehorse again we would definitely want to stay at the Northern Lights Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kew_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 days. What wonderful stays!! Can't tell anything without staying. Renate and Wolfgang are sooooooo wonderful persons! They always help us, make us laugh and happiness. Unfortunately we couldn't see the northern light during the stay, however still we felt that what a wonderful trip it was! The guests who were staying here, were really wonderful and kind peoples!! If you want to go to Whitehorse, definitely I recommend here to stay!!!

本当に、来られて良かったです。 特にオーナーご夫妻の人柄がすばらしく、3日間と短い滞在だったのにも関わらず帰り間際に思わず涙ぐんでしまいました。
 お部屋ももちろんとてもキレイでオシャレで、言うことありません。 チェックインの時間は4時ですが、早く着いたらダイニングでゆっくりしていてもいいそうです。
 私たちは運悪くオーロラは見られませんでしたが、それでもここに来てよかったと思える、すばらしい時間を過ごすことができました。 本当にお勧めです。 Renateさん、Wolfgangさん、本当にありがとう!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyukichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Miyu & Hiroki, thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you sometimes again in the Yukon. Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Northern Lights Resort & Spa is a beautiful, new, well maintained B&B built, owned and dedicatedly operated by Mr. Wolfgang Bublitz and Mrs. Renate Bublitz. It is located on a open land surrounded by woods and is about 20 minutes drive from downtown Whitehorse. The location is perfect to watch aurora borealis because it is far away from city light. I stayed at the cabin of “Enzian” for 3 nights. Despite a -15 Celsius outside temperature, the cabin was warm, cozy, clean with coffee machine, furnace, induction cooker, free Wifi and independent bathroom. It made me feel like home. The cabin has a big window facing north, making it easy to observe aurora borealis while stay warm inside. Wolfgang is a humorous, easy going and knowledgeable man who is always happy to help his guests with a big smile on his face. He is also an excellent photographer. He took a lot of beautiful photos of the northern light and Yukon's nature. All the photos hanging on the walls of the B&B were taken by himself. Renate cooks really good food too. Although I didn't see the northern light during my stay due to the bad weather, Northern Lights Resort & Spa is one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed! Thank you Wolfgang and Renate! Hope to see you again!

A tip for aurora borealis seekers: It is the weather that largely decides your chance to see the aurora borealis. During the entire aurora season, it would be rarely for you not to see the aurora borealis in a clear starry night sky. So if you come during the aurora season, make sure you watch the weather forcast closely. Thick cloud is the last thing you want for your aurora watching. You don't want a full moon night either. So make sure you check the Moon Phases Calender when you make your travel plan.

Room Tip: If you want to take nice northern light photos, make sure you choose the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacknfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Jack, thank you so much again for staying with us, it was a pleasure meeting you and talking to you. You are a very interesting person and we enjoyed every minute. Thank you for the wonderful review. We would love to see you sometimes again in the Yukon and hopefully you can see the Aurora next time. Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived at the airport to a very cold -22 deg with a wind chill of -43 but were warmly welcomed by a lovely man by the name of Wolfgang who proceeded to tell us how balmy the weather was!
After a short drive to their newly hand built cottage & cabins which were lit up with fairy lights & was as pretty as a picture.
We had a room inside their house which was also gorgeous. They had dinner & brekky prepared for us each day and went out of their ways to help us as we had issues with our itinerary. They rang around & booked us into the attractions we thought we had paid for back home. Snowmobiling, Dogsledding, Hot Springs & the Wildlife Preserve.
Renate his wife gave us both a very relaxing 1/2 hr massage which was part of our package & then we had option of using their 2 saunas. But the best thing was the outside spa in the middle of the snow! A must do no matter how cold it is! The steam from the spa was freezing on our beanies!
They stayed up with us on our last night to help us spot the northern lights but unfortunately no life changing lights but we did see a hint of green on the horizon.
My only advice is to stay here longer. We tried to cram too much in & were so knackered by the end.
What a lovely place & a great couple.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you like a B&B or your own cabin. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Manager at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Cara & Steve, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are glad we could be part of your honeymoon trip. We hope we can make it sometime to Australia and would love to visit your wonderful place in Brisbane. Cheers, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
25.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
332 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
611 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
36 reviews
17.6 mi away
Inn On The Lake
Inn On The Lake
#4 of 19 in Whitehorse
140 reviews
23.2 mi away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#2 of 19 in Whitehorse
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Property: Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests, fields and mountain ranges, this stunning purpose-built property could be your home away from home. Northern Lights Resort & SPA is more than a B&B, it is an escape from the hustle and bustle and demands of 21st century living without compromising on the comfort. Come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams. We are perfectly located just 25 Kilometers south of Whitehorse, a little piece of paradise with spa / wellness area featuring a finish sauna, infrared sauna, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym room and massage treatments. We offer B&B accommodation and Resort style "All-Inclusive" Summer and Winter Packages with activities, healthy European style food and free Wi-Fi. Your perfect Yukon location for Northern Lights viewing with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Northern Lights Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Resort & Spa Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing