We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKKY Hotel(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Chalet(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
519
7
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsrenate wolfgangdog sleddingother guestsbreakfast and dinnerwonderful hostshot tubthe main lodgemagical experiencebucket listan excellent cookcourse dinneraurora activityall inclusive packageeuropean stylecabin doorour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 527 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were very lucky to stay NORTHAN LIGHTS RESORT & SPA.
The cabins were clean and comfortable ( Wolfgang built them!), and we could look up at the stars and the Aurora by the window. It was very nice view.
We were relaxed with Finnish sauna every day, and also outdoor panorama jacuzzi. ( it's an unforgettable experience. Wow!)
Worifgang likes jokes, and always kind. The meals (Renate made) were very delicious.(especially my favorite is " garlic mushroom saute " and " grilled fresh salmon ")
We are not good at English, but we had a good time with them. We'll hope come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Atsushi, Reiko, Saki & Nachiko, we hope you are doing well and did have a safe trip back to Japan. Thank you so much for staying at our Resort. We are so happy that we could be part of your Yukon Winter Experience and that you choose to stay with us. It was wonderful to have you here and maybe sometimes you will come back to the Land of the Midnight Sun and the Northern Lights. And thank you for the wonderful review. Happy New Year, Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a cute cozy cabin at the Northern Lights Resort and Spa and I couldn't recommend it more.
Our hosts Wolfgang and Renate were wonderful, Wolfgang was quick to get us snowshoes and point out a trail for a crisp winter walk around the property and happy to flip the top on and off the hot tub when we needed it to warm up afterwards.
Renate's meals were delicious, warming soups, baked local salmon and a particularly delectable sour cherry and cream dessert. Continental breakfasts fuelled us for our days out in the cold.
We were lucky enough to see the Aurora during our visit, Wolfgang checked the weather each night and kept an eye on the skies while he was still up, he even knocked on our door at midnight to alert us to a wave of green cresting over the horizon.
My only disappointment was that I did not have time to try one of Renate's massages! Next time for sure.

Room Tip: Go for a cute cozy cabin - complete with (butane) log fire!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Lass81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Nina & Nathan, thank you so much for staying with us and for the review. And thank you for the wonderful article in your weblog, it looks like you had a lot of fun in the Yukon. We are very happy that we could be a part of your trip. We hope to see you again, maybe for the indiansummer. Happy New Year, Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This resort is the best place in WH. We've stayed 3 nights at the room in the main lodge. Even though Aurora was a quiet level, we really enjoyed our holidays. And we are totally satisfied with great meals, hosts and views. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Saori, thank you again for choosing our Resort for your Northern Lights vacation and for your nice review. It was very nice to have you and your Mom here at our place. Enjoy your time in Canada and when you are going back to Japan, we wish you all the best for your future. Hope to see you sometimes again in the beautiful Yukon. Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wolf & Renate are wonderful hosts, great food, warm cabin, everything we looked for in our first trip to Whitehorse. 360-degree views of the surrounding mountains were spectacular. The weather didn't cooperate by showing us the Aurora this trip, so we'll just have to come back; other times it's obviously brilliant - check out Wolf's images on the website!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndyRockDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Andy, thank you so much for your review, you both have been wonderful guests. We hope you had a great time in NY after leaving the Yukon and a safe trip back to Australia. Merry Chrstmas, Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've never been disappointed when I've tried some top rated B&B on TripAdvisor. It wasn't different this time. We stayed 2 nights at the "Enzian Chalet" and it was excellent!

Very clean, cozy and warm cabin (built by Wolfgang) with super comfortable bed and window faced North, so you can keep your eyes in the sky during the night hopping to see some Aurora activity.

As soon as you see some Northern Lights showing off, it's great to get out off the cabin to get a better view and go for a walk in the middle of the snow, silence and darkness - an amazing experience.
Unfortunately the Aurora activity level was low during these 2 days, so we were able to see just a little bit of it. It would be better to had more days (maybe 5) to see more intense Northern Lights.
We also enjoyed the hot tub outside (despite the cold -32C), it was great, very relaxing!

The meals (cooked by Renate) were delicious and very healthy, we particularly loved the mushroom soup and the salmon.
The main lodge (where the meals are served) is also very nice, with a SPA area and a great fireplace where you can sit down after dinner and have a chat with the lovely hosts Wolfgang and Renate - they are really nice people, very friendly and helpful, the kind of people we love to meet, exchange experiences and bring the real meaning for the word "traveling".

We hope to come back someday.

Vitor and Thayla

Room Tip: The guest room in the main lodge looks cozy and nice, but in my opinion you can have a better experience staying in some of the outside cabins.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VitorAlexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Thyla & Vitor, Thank you so much for your lovely review. You came as guest in our house but you truly left as friends. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our place so much. We are looking forward to see you soon again and hope we that you will see the amazing Northern Lights next time. Take good care, Renate & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews