We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Miles Canyon

Miles Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.82*
and up
Arctic Day: Hiking Tour Half or Full-Day
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
peterborough
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The colur of the water is so gorgeous, the power of the river, albeit 'tamed', is very moving.
An amazing place to walk. I'm not sure how anyone could find it plain and uninspiring,as one reviewer did.....glad I don't live in that world. For anyone who appreciates history, and natural beauty, this is a destination for you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xray380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    110
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I live in Yukon, Canada, and I love Miles Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Miles Canyon is part of the Yukon River, and it is within the city limits of Whitehorse. There is small parking area, and you can walk across the famous suspension bridge. On the the other side there are trails going both directions along the river. This area is rich in history of the 1898-9 Klondike Gold Rush. The gold seekers had to pass through this canyon to carry on toward the gold fields of the Klondike region where Dawson City came into existence. If you can't or don't want to walk, you can view the canyon from a pull-out spot above the river. The water is emerald green, and the whole thing is very spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“watch your step!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice spot to visit. The suspension bridge isn't too scary, but I was surprised to see no guard rails along the cliffside walkway. We saw some young kids racing around very close to the edge, a straight 30 foot drop into the fast-flowing Yukon River. Read the storyboards to find out why it was such an important location during the gold rush

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atibaia, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice new bridge and a beautiful view of Yukon river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our inn owner showed us this place during our transfer to downtown. We did a short walk and took some photos. The view is beautiful: emerald green of Yukon river.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kanamih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Easy Hike, but not very scenic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a nice hike on the riverside, however we found it like a city walk, cultivated. The scenery was very average, looked the same throughout the hike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Miles Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing