We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnt Toast Cafe

Burnt Toast Cafe
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Cafe has a page on Facebooki.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went there twice. The first time was for lunch during the week. Everything we had was very tasty and reasonably priced: the humble salad, the chicken noodle soup and one of the pastrami sandwiches. The second time we went on a Sunday when they only have a brunch menu, which like most brunch menus revolved around eggs, so not very exciting or varied, but still good tasting. The berry sauce option on the french toast is worth it. Staff were friendly, food didn't take long to come and atmosphere was nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sosonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    218
    68
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Okay, I exaggerate. It IS possible to eat breakfast elsewhere in Whitehorse. But don't. This is the best price to quality ratio in town. The Eggs Benny are really good. From Monday to Friday, they are open for breakfast at 7 a.m..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueWheelsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty, bad service, inconsistant food and come cold more often than hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

servers dont care. its like pulling teeth to get them to the table, we kpt going back for the huevos rancheros which were once amazing however the sides that come with it would usually be forgotten and would never show up with the food and u could never get a server to bring it to you even when its slow! everythign takes them a year to bring you what u need. cups and cutlery always had crusted food from dishwasher on them. last time we went we got up and left. too much of the same bad service and dirty dishware. the heuvos IS good when made right and comes hot! this has always been breakfast visits so maybe lunch service is better? food isnt bad if servers cared more and didnt let food get cold before it arrives. biggest complaint was the lips stains on the cups and crusties on the cutlery

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chantiggity k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is such a lovely little cafe with a unique selection of food. I love the truffle fries! The service has always been fantastic! i recommend trying it out

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shauna-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very popular for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Trendy little place on 2nd Ave just off main St. Food is excellent and not your normal fare. Service is great and prices are very reasonable . Extremely busy at lunch hour , come early or you will have trouble getting a seat .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burnt Toast Cafe also viewed

Whitehorse, Yukon
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Burnt Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing