We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 27 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I've stayed in several B&Bs across Canada in the past five years and Midnight Sun is the best. Farr and Del, the proprietors, are fantastic; treated as a long-awaited family member returning home from years of travel. You will not be disappointed with your stay. So recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBuffaloAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is the cleanest place that I have ever stayed. The owners are friendly, gracious, and helpful. As it it is located in town, you can walk to most places. It is quiet. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretPSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

You know that your B&B stay will be slightly odd when you're asked by the owner to leave your shoes at the front entrance. But other than that, it was great. The room was standard, but you also had access to a lounge where you could prepare your own tea. I enjoyed it there.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giannifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

The best thing about this B&B is the host and hostess. They are very friendly and take time to visit with their guests and help plan the day.

The second best thing is the location. Thirteen dollar cab fare from the airport. Easy walking distance to town yet it is in a quiet neighborhood.

The B&B is very tidy and well kept.

The host invited us to a celebration of the Iranian New Year which he was hosting. A very nice event which gave us a chance to meet a lot of locals. Spend some time in Whitehorse. We met lots of people and the people of Whitehorse are extraordinarily friendly and passionate about their city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Del and Farr are the perfect hosts. They were always there when I needed them and yet they allowed me all the privacy I wanted. I stayed with them for almost a month while I began a new job and searched for housing. They were kind, attentive, spacious and helpful in every way. I loved the room I stayed in and enjoyed its comforts, from desk to rocking chair to cozy bed to space for yoga in the morning. I really appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, laundry room, and living room. This is an entirely private area just for guests which creates both personal space and a chance to meet other travellers. To top it all off, there are amazing mountain views out of every window! Midnight Sun is perfect all around!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawatiikhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed in Whitehorse on a trip to Inuvik, NWT, Canada and I have to say Farshid and Del gave me very good impression of what being pampered is like! The fact that Farshid went the extra mile to treat me well is evident:
1) He let me borrow a warm parka and winter boot from his *personal* collection to go to Inuvik. I saved $150 not having to rent it from a local store.
2) He made sure there were snacks, filtered water and orange juice in the guest living room upstairs all the time.
3) He expressed a genuine interest in serving his guest well. He wasn't pushy at all, compared to the place I stayed at in Inuvik where the owner kept pushing me to upgrade my room, my tour, my dog mushing, my car rental and even wanting to add a snowmobile trip that I didn't even ask for!
4) They have wireless Internet that actually work, not like in the Inuvik place. Knowing that NorthwestTel charges them an arm and a leg every month, they are very generous to provide us with an internet connection.
5) Local calls and 1-800 numbers are complimentary. There is a phone in my room.
6) Coin operated Laundry machine are available inside a closet upstairs, in the living room.
I have to say this is one of the best B&B I have stayed in Canada, US, England and France combined! They really know how to treat guests well. No wonder they won some many awards!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrongTrueNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Came to whitehorse on business. I am really glad we ended up staying at the Midnight Sun. Far and his wife Dell were very friendly and nice. Great breakfast continental if your up real early or full breakfast with omlette, toast, fruits etc. if you let them know what time you will be getting up. The house felt very clean and is about a 2 minute drive from superstore, extra foods, mcdonalds, kfc, boston pizza etc. The house was very well kept and felt very clean. My room and the room my co-workers stayed in were well kept and clean. There is internet access in the room (via high speed adsl) as well as in the guest living room upstairs near the coach you can plug in by the phone. There is no wireless access but this wasn't a problem just plugged the computer in. We hotel jumped first at the Westmark which was ok, then to the High Country Inn which had an ok lobby but my room and the rooms of my co-workers had a funny smell and just did not feel comfortable. The Midnight Sun was great, the living room and kitchen were great for hanging out with co-workers and making dinner but you also had your private room to have your own personal space. I posted some pictures below as well as some pictures of the rooms from the b&b's website. Far said it was ok to use the site pictures, and he gave a tour of all the rooms when we arrived and the rooms look like the pictures. This is the first review i have done hoping it will help out the B&B because the owners are really nice and i really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6188 6th Ave | corner of 6th & Cook St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range: $72 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midnight Sun Inn/B&B is a luxury 4-Star accommodation in downtown, Whitehorse, Yukon. Received several awards. It is world renowned for its hospitality and friendliness. This is one of the most beautiful and charming places to stay and offers exceptional value for what you receive. You will love your stay here with private bath, hairdryer, phone, TV, Internet access, guest lounge with Flat Screen TV/DVD, kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midnight Sun Inn Bed And Breakfast Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing