We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like going home!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My first stay with Del and Farr, but not my last. I have visited Whitehorse 3 times, stayed in different locations each time. I will return to Midnight Sun. The hospitality, value for a dollar, cleanliness of rooms as well as space! all make this a comfortable, relaxed location to stay in downtown. I was close to everything so did not even rent a car this trip. Del and Farr were very helpful with suggestions for activities, meals etc. The breakfast was wholesome, plentiful, and homemade. Coffee excellent. The use of a guest area which provides full kitchen, laundry facilities, flat screen tv, internet access..and comfortable furniture makes this place a great find for a longer stay. I was a week, as are most of my stays at least a week.
I have travelled and stayed in B&B's all over the world...Midnight Sun would stack up or exceed any accomodation I have had.
Will be back for sure. Elaine

Room Tip: All rooms, from my view, were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliane155008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    28
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
23
58
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

"Welcome Home!" Those are my favorite words as I walk into the Midnight Sun B&B. I have stayed at this lovely B&B approximately 10 times in the past 6 years. Far and Del are always so lovely and gracious and I truly feel like I'm coming home when they greet me at the door and welcome me into their fine home.

The B&B itself is well-appointed; the rooms are spacious with a great desk to work at; there's a cable TV but I can honestly say I've never turned it on; internet access is free and easy; the entire home is meticulously clean; the generous breakfast is delicious; the upstairs guest kitchen and sitting area are perfect for longer stays and for congregating with other guests or fellow workmates. With the guest kitchen, I love being able to make myself tea or hot chocolate in the evening. I have even cooked my own dinner in the kitchen and warmed up leftovers from the night before. A special treat for all guests is the tasty dessert on the kitchen table every evening, courtesy of Del.

Whenever I come to Whitehorse, the Midnight Sun is my first (and only) choice of places to stay. Today, I booked my return stay for April, just to ensure that I will have a room at my favorite B&B.

As discussed today with one of my workmates, Far and Del are special people and for all our lives, we will remember them and their truly lovely manner and caring nature. It will be a sad day when work no longer brings us to the Midnight Sun B&B.

Room Tip: The Egyptian Room is great for a couple with one child, or for two colleagues sharing a room. The Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannej49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm a world traveller who has seen my share of top rate hotels, hostels and bed & breakfast inns. Del and Far's Midnight Sun B & B was a truly welcoming treasure. The breakfast was great, the rooms were very clean, and Del and Far were most helpful with suggestions and tips for enjoying their great town of Whitehorse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wish every city I travel to would have a place like this! The B&B is immaculately clean and close to downtown in this absolutely beautiful city, territory. The owners are so friendly and treat me like family, which is great when you have to travel from home on business. They are always so helpful if I have questions for work, or evening down time. I have travelled and stayed here many times but this is the first time in mid winter, and wow how comfortable! You can tell thier place from most others as the snow is cleared as if summer. This is a place to be copied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at both the vacation rental run by the Midnight Sun B&B and the B&B itself. The units and rooms are very clean and for the entire two weeks that I stayed, Farr and Del were always available if anything was needed. They always gave us great advice regarding which restaurants to eat at or which locations to visit around Whitehorse. Their bed and breakfast has won over 10 awards including the best breakfast in Canada and the most hospitality. There is a dining area for all the guests so that people can mingle and share their experiences. Each room has its own theme, private bath and is soundproof.

The rentals are fully furnished and the downtown location is great. Cooking supplies are also available so it is easy to cook your own meals if you prefer to not eat out. The price of renting out the whole unit is much cheaper than paying nightly for multiple rooms at a hotel. I believe it is much more comfortable than a hotel as you get your own kitchen, living room, bed rooms, and laundry facility. If you cannot find Farr or Del, try taking a look outside one of the properties as they enjoy tending to the garden or improving the yard in some way. The internet has good speed, however, it was mentioned to us that the usage limit provided in Whitehorse is very low compared to other places in Canada. So checking your email, doing office work, going on Facebook and other activities of that nature are fine, but downloading movies or large program files should be avoided. If this is necessary then you may be charged a bit more for your stay.

I highly recommend the Midnight Sun B&B or vacation rentals to anyone who plans to come to Whitehorse!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the time we exited the bus after a 36 hour journey from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan I felt we were constantly under surveilance from this man, he made it clear not to use too much water and we would have to purchase our own toilet paper and such, I was taken aback at his comments and the fact that the reservation was mixed up and he said we would have to pay more for the extra person..............No Problem.
His behaviour was inexcusable and as a person that uses vacation rentals when we have meetings I found the house was in excellent shape but the deck had nails coming out of the decking boards which I feel is a hazard and the owner was constantly in the yard or at the door or had an excuse to come onto the property, I realize that this is his property and he has every right to inspect the grounds and house but I felt it was excessive especially when he mentions to me the amount of internet that was being used.
I sat down with these owners and have voiced my opinion to them and from my experience this vacation home is not one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Definitely one of the best places where I had stayed, the people is really welcoming, and makes you feel like you are at home. Our room was really clean, and tidy, the kitchen has everything you need to make a great meal, and the location is just perfect. Attended by the very owners, they make you feel at home, really good advices for places to visit, things to d, and best place for example, to rent a car.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Macarena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6188 6th Ave | corner of 6th & Cook St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midnight Sun Inn/B&B is a luxury 4-Star accommodation in downtown, Whitehorse, Yukon. Received several awards. It is world renowned for its hospitality and friendliness. This is one of the most beautiful and charming places to stay and offers exceptional value for what you receive. You will love your stay here with private bath, hairdryer, phone, TV, Internet access, guest lounge with Flat Screen TV/DVD, kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midnight Sun Inn Bed And Breakfast Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing