We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning. An iron. Give them a try.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Air conditioning. An iron. Give them a try.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Business visit. I booked a room plus a conference room. Both were incredibly hot. There is no air-con at this hotel. The conference room was low-ceilinged, hot, and the tablecloths weren't ironed, had not even been folded - they had been rolled in a ball out of the dryer. They were too short for the tables and no skirting for the tables either. No water jugs on the tables - water cooler and plastic cups in the corner. It was super-hot and looked like crap and it was $150 for 2 hours. Not going back.

Room Tip: No air-con in the rooms, and it was about 30 degrees. Two small windows, only one of which opened. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    152
    78
    24
    12
See reviews for
60
110
38
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is not an 5 star hotel, but I would not expect that in a place like Whitehorse. It was comfortable and charming in its own way. I would recommend it.

I was on a tour of 42 people. When we arrived they had all the rooms ready and got our luggage to our rooms promptly. The staff was very nice and helpful. We ate at the attached restaurant that night (actually in the bar area) and it was good food. They have a local brewery there and I strongly recommend the beer. It was excellent. It is an easy walk to the riverfront which we really enjoyed. I was with an older lady and the walk to downtown was kind of far for her. It was at least 15 minutes. But, there is a Starbucks. That is a plus for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got into white horse about 1100 am-tried to check in(was told it would be ok when I booked the room) I was told to come back in two hours which I did. Still I could not check in-room not ready. I finally got checked in after 5pm. All the other people got to check in early. I did not get the group rate and the price given to me when I left. The room was so hot(even with the heat off). I had a fan on and would have to open a window which then the room would get cold. Then I would close the window-would get hot. I would leave the curtains closed and the fan on when I left the room only to come back with the fan off and the curtains wide open. It was a sauna.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxxie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

you wont go wrong staying at this hotel. friendly and helpful staff. good food. great bar to meet up with locals. good location with a 10 min walk to the downtown action. overall a wonderful hotel to enjoy all that this Yukon city and surrounding area has to offer

Room Tip: upgrade yourself from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We always look forward to stopping here on our way up and down the Alaskan Highway. The staff are always so friendly and helpful. Nicole and Jules helped us this year and I have to continue to say, I have never been better treated by front desk staff. Our room was spacious, very nicely appointed, and very comfortable. The hotel welcomes our senior citizen dog which is important to us as we have traveled with her all of her 16 years. The big Royal Canadian Mountie outside the front entry is a welcomed sight to these tired travelers, and a wonderful photo opportunity for many. Try this hotel..I think you will like it!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what your needs/preferences are..I think they will do everything in their power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denalihalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My title sums it up, but here are some more lowlights:
long hairs on my bed (I'm a short haired male)
dirty shower curtain with noticeable dirt hand prints at eye level
only soap in the entire room was shower gel in the wall dispenser in the shower
no desk for working on
toilet bowl was dirty
noise from the bar below (I was in room 403) was BAD!
Pub "The Deck" had good food.

WAY overpriced based on other options. They told me that our Coast corporate rate didn't apply to this location... Seriously?

Room Tip: NOT over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martini_Man_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed in a few in Whitehorse and this seems to be the cleanest and quietest. The do have great breakfasts .... Nice and clean restaurants. Central location. Very friendly staff. Rooms have been updated since my last stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Property: Coast High Country Inn
Address: 4051 4th Ave, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing