We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip to Whitehorse”

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Northern Tales Travel Services, your one-stop shopping spot for year-round adventure in the Yukon! In winter, enjoy an aurora borealis viewing package with optional winter activities such as dog mushing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice fishing, sightseeing flights and special events. Summer experiences include hiking the Chilkoot Trail, canoeing remote rivers reachable only by float-plane, fishing on the Big Salmon River, trekking past glaciers in Kluane National Park, and much more! Ask about custom, individual and private trips by foot, boat or van.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip to Whitehorse”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a great time and would recommend this trip to all of our friends. We spent four nights aurora viewing and were lucky to have 2 nights in which the auroras appeared. The staff at Northern Tales was just great, helped us with our camera setups, and were always on time. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and make excellent tour guides if you choose some of the optional day trips like we did. We met a lot of great people on this trip and really enjoyed the area. Plus, we got to scratch northern lights off our bucket lists!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shockee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    29
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Leading up to our trip to Whitehorse, Sebastian was great dealing with my emails with question after question... Then, when we did the Fall Colour Aurora Borealis Tour in September this year we had the best time imaginable. We got to see the Northern Lights 2 times out of 4. All of the staff that we had contact with (Stefan, Wolf, Tom and Eva amongst others) were great and loads of fun - they did everything possible to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and everything went smoothly. We would love to return! Thanks to everyone at Northern Tales.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahL_1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Engaged under the romantic Northern Lights!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Coming from Singapore, the flight took my girlfriend and I more than 20 hours to reach Yukon. The tiring journey was well worth it. At the end of the 3 night excursion, I got to see the Northern Lights and also got myself a wife! Yes, I proposed under the Northern Lights, a memorable experience. Seb and Torsten are very responsive and we both love Tom to bits! He's our guide and a very fatherly figure with many interesting stories to share. One of the top things to do before one dies, and I am truly in awe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank chernsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Friendly, helpful group of people. The viewing location is well kept. The transport was well organised and comfortable. The side tours were also very good.The Northern lights were not very good while we were there but we still had a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Reality check folks. A great viewing of the Northern Lights is influenced by solar activity and atmospheric conditions beyond the control of anyone born and currently living on Planet Earth. That being said, this company is likely to give you the best chance of fulfilling your dreams if a viewing of the Aurora Borealis is on your "bucket list".

The company has excellent communications and logistics and employs a staff of young guides you would be proud to present to your own kids as evidence of what self confidence and great communications skills can deliver. You will likely be happy even if the "show" is less than optimal.

Ignore reviews about the quality of the viewing location. Those reviewers likely expected the guides to draw him/her a hot bath and provide a pedicure in the Yukon wilderness. Wood stove -warmed cabins, hot beverages and snacks, roaring bond fires to warm the bones and meet your fellow travelers, photographers to capture the experience.........what more could you possibly ask for?

If you are in the Yukon from September-March.......book a viewing.

Great company, great services.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing