We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet Sucks!...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is old and more than very basic. In Europe it would be a one star in the best case or less.
The Internet is basically nonexistent, so if you are lucky, you will be able to visualize a page or send a text only email after a few hours of frustrations. For the big price you pay, they should have a super fast Internet at least.
Rooms are clean, but there's no air conditioning and the washrooms are probably from the 1970's with moldy showers.
Some things have been cheaply renovated but still lots of old stuff around, like the TV sets from the 1980's.
Common areas have rotten carpets that would fit more an animal farm than a hotel intended for humans.
Avoid if possible, unless you want to consider it as a last resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albernio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your review will be used for training purposes to improve our service in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly 867-667-7801 Ext. 238 to discuss your stay and how we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Alaska for 2 nights, one on the way there and on the way back. The front desk clerk was very warm and was able to give us good recommendations for attractions and dining. Our rooms during both stays were spacious, clean and comfortable. Great restaurant also on site..ordering French toast for breakfast is a must! Overall great value for a decent price and I would recommend to others

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandellion1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I came into whitehorse at a really busy time and was nervous about this hotel after reading some past reviews. I decided to still check it out because it offered the best price so I asked to look at a room first. The hallway was definitely worn but the room was okay looking, clean, comfortable, spacious and, bonus, had a nice view of the yukon river! I stayed here 2 nights (originally only supposed to be 1 night) and the staff were great the whole time. Very helpful. After so much time on the road it was really nice to find a place downtown were I could walk to everything and still enjoy being right beside the river. Overall - nothing fancy about this hotel, its your basic package, but the service and the staff stepped it up a knotch and I ended up really enjoying it. I am headed up to Alaska now and made reservations to stay here again on my way back down. Only real negatives for me were kinda ugly hallways and there was no A/C but even then it wasn't too hot and the fan in the room did the trick.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first and get the second floor riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaVoyageur222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will use your suggestions to evaluate our service for your next stay. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

WARNING: NEVER, NEVER stay here! It was despicably filthy. Furnishings were threadbare and tattered with (apparently) cigarette-burn holes. Door to connecting room had a broken lock. Even after we asked and were moved to a different room, it was horrid. Bathroom was repulsive. We used an entire container of Clorox Wipes on the bathroom before using it. If there had been any other hotel rooms available in Whitehorse, we would have left. Unequivocally, THE worst hotel on the whole of the Alaskan Highway. THE worst place we have EVER stayed in our entire lives!!! ABSOLUTELY DIGUSTING!!! No compensation offered by staff even after showing them the digusting conditions. Appalling!!!

Room Tip: Beyond TERRIBLE! Do NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COTravelers131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us about your stay with us last summer. I am very sorry to hear of the experience that you had. We are committed to ensuring that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with rooms that are clean to the highest standard. I can certainly understand your frustrations not being able to enjoy a clean room and also that little was done for you at the time to ensure your satisfaction. I am very sorry for this. I would appreciate an opportunity to further discuss your visit and hopefully find a resolution to the negative experience that you had. Please contact me, Kaitlyn, at 867-667-7801 ext. 238

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The gentleman who checked us in was friendly enough. We had asked for a non-smoking room, but they were full so we were given a smoking room. It was stifling hot with a small window air conditioner and a desktop fan in front of it. There were cigarette burn marks everywhere... In the carpets, walls, furniture, bedding, etc. One wall had a large hole that was plastered with a yellow color that looked awful. The room smelled awful. We had to rewash all of our stuff because it smelled so bad when we checked out.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi Trisha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear of your experience and wish we would have done better to ensure you had a comfortable stay with us. It is especially unfortunate that we did not have a non-smoking room available for you that night that was more suitable for you and your family. I apologize for the smell and discomfort that you experienced while staying in one of our smoking rooms. We do our best to ensure they are maintained to a high standard but regrettably that was not the case during your stay. I would very much an appreciate an opportunity to discuss this with you further and hope we can arrange something that may ensure your next visit with us is more enjoyable. Please call me, Kaitlyn, at 867-667-7801 ext 238.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The night I stayed at this hotel almost everything else was booked solid, or incredibly overpriced, so I made the mistake of staying here. Lukewarm reception from staff member who simply handed me a key rather than informing me of my room number. Airport shuttle IS NOT FREE, no matter what you may read or hear. It's almost as expensive as a cab at $10 each way.

The room itself was spacious, but that was the only good thing about it. 3/5 lamps in the room didn't work, there was dust and grime EVERYWHERE, the remote control for the tiny and ancient CRT tv was selective on when it wanted to work, and the power button didn't. The room (nonsmoking) reeked of mold and faintly of urine. The bathroom was hastily cleaned, but the mirror was covered in water splashes and toothpaste, I found hairs in the tub, the linens (particularly the bathmat) were either stained or disgustingly dirty. Either way, should have been rags. The walls were dirty and missing paint, the whole tub and shower showed disrepair plain as day, and again, it smelled in there. I got pictures of everything on another device and would be happy to email them to anyone considering staying here.

When I checked in they charged an ambiguous, rounded figure to my credit card, offering no detail of what was being charged, and in the morning on checkout there was no receipt provided. This property is located right on the river in downtown Whitehorse, but even that wouldn't convince me to stay here again. Stay away, unless there is actually no other way for you to get a roof over your head for the night, and if that's the case, don't expect much.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi Kari,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I understand your frustration and it is disappointing that our standards were not followed during your stay with us. By letting us know of your experience - whether positive or negative - it is helpful for us to not only improve the service we are able to offer but also allows us an opportunity to provide a resolution to your concerns. The concerns that you outlined do not fit the standard that we have committed to. I would be very appreciative if you could contact me directly to further discuss these incidents. Please call me at 867-667-7801 Ext 238

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Huh, what should I say about this hotel?!?! Wouldn't ever stay here again, location is decent however. If it wasn't for the fact that my man is military and we were traveling with our big dog, I would have changed hotels fast. It is next door to a very loud bar and all night long you could hear people outside fighting. Very old and could use some updating. I understand Whitehorse isn't a huge mecca, but for this town being a thorough fare for travel on the Al-Can highway and tourism, I'm surprised at the older hotels in town. This is the second time I've stayed in Whitehorse, but would not recommend the Best Value Inn. They offer underground parking, which part of was under construction and you drive down a steep ramp and are in basically a huge garage and then walk through the basement of the hotel till you get to the stairs leading to the hotel. Creepy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate you giving us an opportunity to evaluate our service and use the information you gave us to improve. It is unfortunate to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. I understand the concerns that you addressed. We are doing some construction in the building to improve our facilities. I am sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused you while using our underground parking. We hope to update other things that you mentioned in the near future. We also strive to ensure that our facilities are enjoyable and our guests always feel safe. When made aware of any incidents our front desk staff are trained to address any disturbances and to contact the authorities when appropriate. I am sorry to hear this was not the case when encountering the disturbances outside your room. I would like an opportunity to further discuss your concerns directly. Please contact me at 867-667-7801 ext 238

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 102 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $57 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Whitehorse, Yukon, the Canadas Best Value Inn is a 2-story hotel that offers 53 spacious guest rooms with either a mountain or river view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Whitehorse
Americas Best Value Inns Whitehorse
Canadas Best Value Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing