We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Older hotel”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is obviously an older hotel but it was nicely kept and clean. Very convenient location for downtown Whitehorse. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Be warned, there is no air conditioning in this hotel so staying here in the heat is not all that comfortable. They do provide a fan and the windows open, but sometimes that just wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the hallway (not the entrance end). The hallways can be noisey and crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    114
    177
    42
    20
See reviews for
65
144
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Westmark seemed to offer good value when I was booking a hotel in Whitehorse, so thought I'd give it a try. It seems to cater mostly to large groups, but we were able to get decent rates and booked it.
The lobby was very full/busy when we got there (late afternoon), but they had separate desks for the groups and for individual travelers, so other than just seeming crowded and loud, it did not result in a significant wait to check in.
When I got to my room, it was obvious that there had been a problem there, as the room still smelled awful from the previous occupant; it looked like the cleaning staff had tried to clean it up but hadn't dealt with the smell. I went back to the check-in desk and spoke to a young woman at the counter, who first said "sorry but we're full tonight and have no other rooms so there's nothing we can do". After I made clear that this was not acceptable, she did go to get her manager, who upgraded me to a suite at no additional cost (as was appropriate since there were no other rooms available in my category). Given this, I was able to judge both the suite and the regular guest room a traveling companion was in, and both were fine.
The rooms were good size, as were the bathrooms, and the price at the hotel seemed lower than equivalent hotels (be sure to check all their pricing categories, as the same room can have big price differences depending on which rate you click on).
The hotel location is good as well, putting you in walking distance of many restaurants downtown.
When I was there a week or so ago, it was during a very unusual heat wave (temps in the upper 80s) and the rooms aren't air conditioned. Fans were placed in all rooms, and that helped a bit. However, this type of weather is very unusual, and I believe that most hotels there are not air conditioned, so I don't hold it against them.
Had the breakfast buffet in their restaurant, which was quite good, though pricey (but food seems pretty expensive in most places along the Alaska Highway, so this was probably not out of the norm for the area),
For a short "passing through town" visit in the summer, this was fine. During the winter, check rates at other hotels as well, as they may drop by 50% or so in the off-season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJB124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a heat wave in Whitehorse. Room had a fan running and window open when we entered room. Nice touch. Rooms need refurbishing. They get hard use by all these Holland America tour groups. Greatly disappointed to have a charge for the Internet. This was the only place on 30 day trip that charged! Get with it. We were not part of a tour group and realize this hotel caters to the cruisers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on the first floor in the corner. The rooms were very basic and dated! It just didn't seem to match the standards of Holland America so I was surprised. ( There was a used towel left behind the bathroom door as well. ) We didn't eat at the hotel because there were other better places to eat in town. There didn't seem to be much to do in town either. If I were Holland America, I'd build a nice hotel closer to Kluane National Park and offer excursions into Whitehorse and more into the park!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathshungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed as part of a Holland America cruise/land trip. Hotel was just average. Clean and beds were comfortable but no a/c. Was unusually hot when we were there, so that can be a factor. Walking distance from restaurants. Food in the hotel was just okay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was easy walking distance from restaurants. Good alternative to pricey hotel restaurant. Rooms were dated, but clean. Lack of air conditioning made the room hot, but they did provide a fan. Hard to expect ac for such a short summer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwilson785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights on a Holland America cruise/land trip. The hotel is just ok, rooms are no different from many small town motels in North America. We had a few cleanliness/maintenance probs but nothing to make us ask for a new room. There is no a/c but since summer is so short here that's not unreasonable, but if you're here on hot days you notice it. Breakfast in the restaurant was good. The location is good and most attractions in the Town are in walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mufcn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 201 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Westmark Whitehorse Hotel & Conference Center is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. Recently renovated, the Westmark Whitehorse offers 180 first-class guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Westmark Whitehorse is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Hotel Whitehorse
Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel And Conference Center Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing