We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After driving from Palmer, AK, we were not unexpectedly fatigued. We arrived after 3:00am and had a short time to sleep. The nicely modern room accommodated an easy transition to exhausted sleep and subsequent return to the long road. Firm comfortable beds, no outside noise (save hallway cleaning noise an hour reserved for sleep), and fastidiously clean -- my three requirements for hotels. Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

You're not going to get the same choice as you would in other capital cities when you're in the north. The Westmark is one of the better hotels in town. It's dated but comfortable and it's right downtown. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. I was here on business. You'll be charged for the wireless internet at about 7$ a day. The rooms were clean but basic. If you're looking for a place with a pool, jacuzzi and workout room this place doen't have it. Oh ya, if you've got a Roger's cell phone it wont work up here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the south. You'll hear them emptying the dumpsters but you can see the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here during a trip as a sole female traveller on business. The only drawback is the parking is a bit funky, and I had to park on the street in metered parking. But its clean, as modern as you will get in Whitehorse, the lounge is not bad either. They wireless internet works, out of all the hotels I have stayed at in Whitehorse this is one I would like to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraNovaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Holland America (HAL) cruise/tour of Alaska and the Yukon. (Westmark is owned by HAL.) This is an older, somewhat plain but quite adequate hotel that is reasonably updated in the lobby, hallways and our hotel room. We had one of several rooms facing a large parking lot, cutting down on privacy although the noise wasn't bad. The room itself was clean, comfortable and looked recently refurbished.

The restaurant was ok for breakfast and for one dinner. It is well situated for walking around.

The hotel houses the Frantic Follies, a fun vaudeville show in the old 1890's style. The troupe works hard and does a fine job.

A dinner tip: Don't miss going to Georgio's, a highly-rated Italian restaurant just 2 blocks away. It was pricey but our large (12) group all thought the food and service were excellent. A real find in this small city just like the locals told us!

Room Tip: Avoid the side facing the large parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msilvers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night while passing through town on our way to Alaska. We did not have an advance reservation and just walked in to check for vacancy. Luckily they did because we stopped at another hotel in the area and they were full. Front desk staff were very nice and even asked my husband if he was military. We got a $189 room for $119 which made us very happy. The hotel isn't the fanciest but it has that Whitehorse charm which we liked. The room we stayed in was updated and very clean. The only downside is that there is not free wi-fi in the rooms. They charge $6.99 for it but they have two computers in the lobby that you can use for free. The hotel is close to lots of restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance. We would definately stay here again if ever in Whitehorse again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fancy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Westmark Whitehorse for the second time this month... The hotel is fantastic with the Klondike Road Relay. We have all sorts of tired runners coming in at all hours at night and the staff were very welcoming and accomodating to us. We will return. The restaurant is average. A good choice is to try breakfast at the Baked Cafe very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrown246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Spent two nights as part of a Holland America group. The hotel looks quaint but it is an older building. We wound up with a room on the first floor and it was awful. Our room faced "Steele" street and it was right outside a parking area with cars facing towards the room. There was no personal privacy as we had to keep the curtains closed. I was able to hear the constant humming of a large air conditioning unit attached to a building across the street also located on "steele" street. Furthermore being on the first floor I could hear everything that was going on upstairs. Additionally, people walking in the hotel hallway could be heard as the wooden floor/ planks (covered by hallway rug) further amplified the noise coming from the hallway.
The hotel food was terrible so if you can, don't eat there..Over priced and just not good grub...Try "The Kebabery" across the street, in walking distance.
There are PC's the lobby that offer free internet access. WIFI is availabe throughout the hotel but there is a charge unless you are a Holland America guest which then gives you free access to Wifi.
This hotel is not meant for business travelers so stay away from it. They are geared towards herding Holland America tours so a business person would get no rest.

Room Tip: You want to stay on the top floor (I think it's the third floor) and at the very end of the hall...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahmu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
260 reviews
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 201 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $107 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Westmark Whitehorse Hotel & Conference Center is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. Recently renovated, the Westmark Whitehorse offers 180 first-class guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Westmark Whitehorse is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Hotel Whitehorse
Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel And Conference Center Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing