We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed February 9, 2014

nothing remarkable about this hotel. but good solid service, clean , spacious rooms etc.
As others have said a kettle would be nice, but the coffee maker doubled up with a bit of ingenuity.
Breakfast was ok, but local bakeries were outstanding.
overall a confortable stay, but the internet connection was terrible! had to rely on free internet in town, as even the computer by the lifts was slow/unconnectable, and the printer didn't work.
otherwise ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 681 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

The only disappointing experience for this business traveller was the internet. If you need stable or high speed internet consider choosing another property. On the plus side the staff are accommodating to requests combined with spacious rooms and close proximity to everything down town gives you an average experience for the value of your room rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gold Rush Hotel. It was very comfortable and the beginning of a wonderful experience for us in the Yukon. The staff were very helpful and courteous and the rooms were comfortable and adequate for what we wanted. If I could make any request it would be for a kettle in the room to provide tea for the non coffee drinkers. Other than that it was great with a good pub menu in the hotel for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Paid more money for what was received. Room was dirty on arrival and the jacuzzi wasn't working in the room. Hotel is in a good location and the staff were friendly, but they didn't address the problems. Music in the lounge was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Located right in the main street of Whitehorse, this is an excellent property. We stayed as a couple for few nights for Northern Lights in Dec last week around Christmas. The Hotel has a nice restaurant and bar. Many global cuisine restaurants - Asian / Chinese / Italian / Mexican and fast food & cafes like Tim Hortons, Pizza Hut, Boston Pizza, Starbucks are located at walking distance. No room service, do check out restaurant timings if you want to eat at odd hours. Otherwise, some ready to eat snacks are available near reception desk. The Northern Light tour operator works closely with the hotel and would help in making all arrangements for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahipVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent two nights here and have nothing to complain about. Beautiful beds, nice warm room which was immaculately clean. All of the staff were fantastic. The pick up and drop off at the airport was welcome and well managed. Nothing was a problem for the reception staff who did all they could to assist with providing information and assistance. Free wi-fi of course & free local calls :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Best Western Gold Rush Inn while we were in Whitehorse from December 21st to the 24th. As soon as we got in, we were greeted very politely. The staff are focused on costumer service.

The Saloon Pan Restaurant (could be wrong on the name) inside the hotel was also great. Service was good, the food coming out seemed kind of slow when we went for lunch even though they weren't that busy. However, I can honestly say, these were the first nachos I have had in at least a year that were not over done, huge kudos! When my mother and I ate there for the second time, closer to dinner, the food came out reasonably fast but wasn't as good as when we went for lunch.

All in all excellent customer service, check-in/check-out process quick and painless.

When I come back to Whitehorse I definitely plan on staying here again. No exceptions.

Room Tip: Floors can be creaky (so ask for rooms where no one is above you) and the doors slam behind you so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrstlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing