We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, old, but friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Hot, old, but friendly staff.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cons: no way of cooling the room besides a small window and fan, and it was oppressively hot during the day. There was a restraint exhaust right next to my window, which meant I had to choose between the unpleasant heat and the overwhelming smell of grease. The shower swung wildly between hit and cold every few minutes, meaning you had to stand half in and out to use it.
The wifi was so slow I couldn't load images or videos, and continually disconnected so backing up my apple devices was impossible. The room came with a microwave, but no cutlery or crockery. One of the two elevators was extremely dodgy, once it jerked so violently I was thrown from my feet. It I had been elderly, I can easily imagine a broken hip.

Pros: the bathroom was nicely furnished, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful, I bought a watermelon without thinking and they sent it to the kitchen to be cut up for me. The location is excellent in proximity to businesses and a supermarket. They had plenty of washers and dryers for guests to use. Ample parking nearby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    235
    145
    39
    16
See reviews for
100
177
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SALAMINA, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a room on the 4th floor.It was big,nice and very clean .The external appearance and the lobby were old style,really nice.The staff was polite,especially Joanna,who was also very professional.It was a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Klearchos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is a mix of old and new kind of like the town. The rooms are updated very clean and comfortable, plus the location is perfect in the heart of Whitehorse. I have stayed there several times and will do it again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado
Level Contributor
272 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very pleasant stay at The Gold Rush Inn. We didn't know anything about Whitehorse, Yukon, however, by using Trip Advisor and looking at the reviews, we found our way to this charming hotel. The front desk area is nicely featured with a dark wood finish that sets up your first impression that this hotel has a touch of elegance. Our stay matched our first impression as the room was very spacious, clean, and very well furnished. The hotel has it's our parking lot next to the building which was very convenient for a downtown hotel. We had our dinner in the hotel bar/lounge - both the reuben sandwich and the wings were great - and so was the beer!!! The desk staff was very friendly and very willing to answer any of our questions. The Gold Rush Inn is truly "A Downtown Charm".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On our way through we stopped here to stay the night before we headed off to Skagway, Alaska. The young lady at the front desk was so great! Very friendly and always had a smile. The room was beautiful and very clean and the location was perfect. The pet area needed to be picked up really bad. But other than that it was the perfect place to stay and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsopretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJmuiden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of the town with good and free parking nice rooms and good beds frendly staff the pub is downstairs and was nice and cosy when i made a reservation on the net there was a litle communication misthake but the nice lady from the desck made all in order and the mony was retund to my bank

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a great hotel if you're a city person. Quick walk to shopping and attrations. There is a pub downstairs and a club on the other end of the hotel. I was on the top floor at the far corner of the hotel with a mountain view. It was beautiful. The carpets in the hotel could use an upgrade, but otherwise it's what you would expect for Whitehorse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing