We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad Hotel, Internet Painfully Slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is one of the better choices in Whitehorse. The rooms were fairly well appointed and new. The bathtub/shower was left out of the last renovation and was obviously old and worn, didn't drain properly and was in need of some maintenance.

However, the deal breaker here is the internet. It was PAINFULLY slow and unfortunately for me and my group required for business. One speed test showed under 500 kb/s. Budget 10 minutes to check your email. This was mentioned to the front desk and we were told that people have been complaining about this for a long time, yet no one from management seems to do anything about it. The Westmark is the better choice for that reason alone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 674 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

While nothing special, it was probably one of the better places in Whitehorse to stay. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very good during check-in and we did have a place to park our truck and U-Haul trailer for the night. Would probably stay again given our other choices.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Freqtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed fro business for 7 night and it was a mixed bag. First the good...The rooms were very clean. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was centrally located. The bar in the hotel was also enjoyable. Unfortunately there were a couple of downsides that took away from the experience. Even though the hotel was renovated it was still a very old hotel and as such it was a wooden structure which included the floors. Since I was on a lower floor when someone walked above me the whole floor creaked and groaned. Which is fine when your not tring to sleep but when the people above you are up all night the floor noise was so loud I couldn't get to sleep. The other disappointment was that the slow internet. As I was there on business any time I tried to connect it seemed like forever before you could and then it would log you off and the whole process would start over again. If not for the noise from the rooms above the stay would have been very good.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here get a room on the top floor in order to avoid the creaky floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scamith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and my room was very nice. Great comfortable bed and decent furniture in the room.

Only complaint is that the Internet can be very slow at times and you have to constantly re-login to the access page whenever you leave and come back.

Would still recommend this place to anyone that is travelling to Whitehorse.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank qdball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are very clean and modern. It is centrally located in downtown. Staff is friendly. The amenities are decent and the food in the restaurant downstairs is delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms had 2 queen beds which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms are a great size, comfy beds, and a bar fridge which is a nice bonus. Some of the front desk staff are great, others are a tad average. Very short walk to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Gold Rush Inn for four nights and was pleased with the accommodation. The Gold Rush Inn is filled with character, charm and personality. But, if you are wishing for luxurious appointments, seek elsewhere. I admire the Best Western for keeping the original character of the hotel as it made me feel like I was stepping back in time during the gold rush days. The floors creaked with every step, inside and outside of the room. The old and charming elevator was slow and created great opportunities to visit with other patrons. The thin walls made everyone as quiet as can be. Even the front desk had the original mail boxes etc and the front desk staff were great. The character of this hotel was fantastic!

Not only was the character fantastic, but also the location. It is in the middle of downtown Whitehorse one block away from the unique shops downtown Whitehorse has to offer. I was able to get everything that I needed within a five minute walk from the hotel. There are also really nice restaurants within a few blocks in all directions, creating the perfect opportunity to have a really nice dinner with a bottle of wine and having a pleasant and safe walk back .... no need to drive.

The rooms need to be updated. The carpet was old and I wore my flip flops all the time. However, the bed was unbelievable!!! I had the best sleeps. Most importantly though, the room was extremely clean, which made me look past the need for renovations.

Parking was easy, free and I had no problems navigating my way around the area.

I would be happy to return to Whitehorse and the Gold Rush Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $116 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing