We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and best of all good heating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Esslinjgen
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and best of all good heating”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Arrived in Whitehorse to early snowfall. The first thing I found great is the free shuttle bus from the airport that takes you to nearly all in town hotels. The gold rush in is in good shape, the elevators could be faster but rooms are clean, spacious and the heating worked really well. It is just a 5 minute walk to the Yukon river, restaurant and spa are offered as well. The staff at the reception also was able to point out a good jogging round passing most of the sightseeing spots of the town. Friendly and ok pricing. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjaintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    260
    154
    41
    17
See reviews for
111
193
58
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have been to Whitehorse 3 times and each time we stayed at the Gold Rush Inn. It seems to be the "standard" in town and most of the tour companies pick up here by default.

The only "negative" is that I always have found the walls a bit thin. Otherwise, location is great, service is fine and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel itself was nice, the staff very friendly, except an older lady who was our waitress at the Gold Pan Saloon. She was downright miserable.
My only complaint would be that my room had paper thin walls. I'm talking so thin that I could hear the person on one side of my room quietly walk around and on the other side, I could hear a quiet phone conversation. It was as if there was a blanket between us instead of walls.
Needless to say, I didn’t sleep very well. Every time one person or the other got in or out of bed, watched T.V, made a phone call, came into the room or left at all hours of the night, I was woken up. However my colleagues at the other end other of the hotel didn’t have this problem and slept soundly.
On a positive note, the manager did personally apologize to me about that fact. So overall I would say that the hotel does care about and look after their clients.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivoryandebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A nice hotel and dogs are welcome. It has an Gold Rush feel in the lobby with artifacts of the Klondike Gold Rush. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is free right beside the hotel after unloading conveniently in front of the hotel. There is an older elevator but it adds interest to the hotel. The rooms are clean and nice and the outside of the building has been renovated. We would stay there again, but find a different place to eat besides the Gold Pan Saloon in the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Main Street and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Best Western Gold Rush Inn as part of a long weekend to see the Northern Lights.

The hotel is conveniently located on the Main Street in the downtown area and most restaurants and shopping are easily accessible from it. The outside of the hotel looks like a building dating back to the gold rush period and so creates a good ambiance, however, all of this is lost inside. The inside of the hotel is dated and falling apart. The reception areas and restaurants are poor and the rooms are just average. The hotel boasted on its website about a recent renovation, however, if this was renovated I dread to think what it was like before. To be fair the rooms are large, have good facilities, and were clean. The biggest problem with the rooms is the bathroom and the shower/bath in particular which is horribly dated and whilst powerful the shower is not impressive.

Service was also a real problem here. The staff were sometimes friendly sometimes downright rude. For example, we charged breakfast to the room and when we went to check out were basically told off for doing it as the rooms were part of a trip and then made to go back into the restaurant and pay separately. Another example of the poor service we had is that we had booked the hotel shuttle to go to the airport. We waited, and waited and the shuttle never turned up at the appointed time so the hotel ended up having to call us a taxi (which to be fair they paid for). Whilst it is commendable they paid they gave us no warning the shuttle wasn't running (and it was clear from overheard conversations as we waited for the taxi that they knew full well it wasn't operational and this almost led to us missing our flights home. All in all just no attention was paid to the customers.

Breakfast was adequate but the service was very slow - again almost making us late for a trip. The restaurant/bar area looks like a working men's club but the atmosphere in the evening was friendly and comfortable.

Overall, I'm not sure you could find a much better hotel in downtown Whitehorse but this hotel is in need of a real overhaul of both the building and the service. However, given it is a Best Western property expectations were not of luxury and the good rooms made up for the shortcomings to give an average review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a second floor room and had to carry our stuff through the lobby then up one flight of steps then onto the elevator. The hotel was very busy, a large group of service men were checking in. Parking is a concern because it says there is a monthly fee area where the hotel parking is. We didn't get a ticket or towed so I guess we did ok parking there. The room was nice. The amenities were the usual for a Best Western. The room was clean. When we first entered we heard a gargle noise from the bathroom sink. There was sewage coming up into the sink bowl. It went back down and my husband ran some water through the sink. My problem came at 5am when I was awaken from a terrible methane gas smell. I got up and ran water in the tub and sink to fill up the traps then I put wet wash clothes and towels over the drains to help clog off the smell. Methane gas is very dangerous...it can kill you and it is combustible. One spark from a light switch or any electrical item or a lighter can blow the place up. Needless to say I didn't sleep much after that . They really need to get some plumping work done. It is a nice hotel with a big problem. I told the front dest that morning when checking out and they said they knew about the problem and even stated they smelled it really bad out in the hallway.

Room Tip: Until they fix this plumbing problem I wouldn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had a confirmed reservation for 6 days but the hotel only honored 3 days and then told me the hotel was full even though I had a reservation confirmed. After completing a survey of the hotel after I left (after I was moved to their "sister" hotel) I was written to by the hotel manager who admitted that the prime minister of Canada came through and they needed room for his entourage on that day. Rather than moving one of his entourage to the other hotel, they moved me.

I will never go to this hotel again since obviously I am not important enough to be given equal treatment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dwayne_0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing