We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Pricey”
Review of Airport Chalet

Airport Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Chalet
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
179 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice but Pricey”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few time now and I would probably stay again but we were a little disappointed with our last stay. We had reservations for a pet room and somehow things got mixed up and our reservation was not recorded as a pet room. They were accommodating and let us stay in the hotel itself (all pet rooms were full) but it was noisey and the room were not as nice.

The restraurant was convenient and the fried chicken was good but service was slow. Overall the rate was very high for the off season (early May) but the location is better for travelers on the Alcan because you can avoid the downtown if you want. I would probably stay again but if they messed up on our reservations again it would be my last stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are nicer and quieter then the ones in the motel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
10
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was busy when we sat down and there was only a one younger waitress on, so I expected it was going to take some time. I started to wonder how our meals would turn out when the bus boy gave a meal to three different customers before getting the right person. Not just inquirer but leaving the meal and coming back changeing to the next leave and then to the correct customer. He almost gave our meals to the table next to us, but I caught it in time. Both meals where less than luke warm. Sad only bad experience we had in Whitehorse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldcarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I really was worried about staying here- but found the new owners and staff to be excellent and helpful. The room was quiet, clean, and the beds were absolutely so comfortable that I am determined to try to locate the same mattress for my home. The food in the coffee shop was delicious and served fast with a smile :) Excellent channels on the TV as well. There is also a bar with LIVE entertainment on the weekends. I didn't go in but stood at the door and listened for a while. They have really interesting/ intriguing historical photographs on the walls. From there to the Airport was only $6.50 plus tip for the cab fare. I am glad I stayed there and would stay again when I get up North again.

Room Tip: I found it very quiet on the ground floor facing the parking lot. I didn't ask if they had a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived late at night (9:00PM). The restaurant was closed, and nothing was open that was close. The owner offered and made us a late dinner, which was not only excellent but was as if the restaurant was not already closed.
We had our dogs with us and they were very accommodating for them. We have two little Yorkshire Terriers. Make sure a tell the front desk about pets to avoid a fine.
The interior was older, very clean , and the older interior added to the charm of the hotel.
Breakfast the next morning, food was excellent, as was the service.
All members of the staff were very friendly and helpful!!
We would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to friends and family!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Excellent service with the new ownership :) friendly staff in bar/restaurant :) great location, across the street from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whistler4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel is definitely old but it was very clean and kept up. The food in the restaurant was good but the service was horrible. I'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Front desk staff were very professional and friendly. The hallway off the lobby was musty and stinky though. My room in the main building (where they do have wi-fi) was big enough, very dated decor though, with ugly faux-wood panelling. comfortable enough though - the bathroom did have some updates including a new tub enclosure. It was quite quiet despite being on the main highway. There is a restaurant and lounge as part of the complex- which is convenient (the food and service there were ok). Its not fancy-schmancy like the skyy motel next door, but the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Chalet

Property: Airport Chalet
Address: 91634 Alaska Hwy | Whitehorse Airport, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Chalet is located directly across from the Whitehorse Airport on the Alaska Highway, only two miles from the city centre. The Airport Chalet is a full-service hotel offering a licensed family restaurant, cocktail lounge, choice of hotel, motel, family, or kitchenette style rooms, guest laundromat and gas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Airport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Chalet Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing