We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Whitehorse”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Courteous and gracious staff. Lovely rooms. Excellent food in the restaurant. Without question, the best service and accomodations in Whitehorse - and I have stayed in almost all of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for SKKY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 439 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed at this new hotel in Whitehorse. There are none of the usual amenities one expects from a “luxury” hotel at Skky Hotel. No spa, no weight room, no pool, nada. The parking lot was unpaved and riddled with nails. I was concerned that I’d get a flat tire. The restaurant was overpriced with the food quality marginally exceeding a Stoffer’s Lean Cuisine bought from the frozen food aisle at the grocery store. The surroundings also left a lot to be desired. You’re beside a car wash for one, and you are not Downtown, but in a run-down residential area of town. Look forward to flights and highway traffic keeping you up all night. All-in-all Skky Hotel was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldo_McFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Owner at SKKY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2009

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are a boutique hotel and consider ourselves to be the best hotel in the Yukon, which opinion is expressed over and over by our guests. Whilst we do not have a pool or spa on site, we have an arrangement with the Canada Games Centre (a new state of the art facility) for any guests that wish to have a pool (olympic sized), sauna, exercise facilities, etc and we will arrange to drive and pick you up from the Centre. It is a five minute drive from our hotel.

We thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Brand new, nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, white linens. Walking distance from the airport - ie not in the downtown if that's important to you . A nice change from the typically tired or bland (or sometimes shoddy) hotels of Whitehorse and I've stayed in most over the years. Time will tell how well some of the furnishings wear at the Skky but it's very nice right now - especially for Whitehorse.

Note that the spelling in Trip FInder is incorrect. It is the Skky Hotel (not Skyy).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notanaircanadafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I have been coming to Whithorse on business for 12 years. The hotels there, and I have stayed in most of them, range from poor to mediocre with the latter being a rare experience. This new place has very nice rooms with new comfortable beds, plasma TVs and nice bathrooms. The staff is trying very hard, also a rarity in Whitehorse, although there were inevitably some new hotel growing pains. There is a nice restaurant and bar lunge though the menue was still limited when I was there. It is located across the road from the airport, which for me was a plus because of arriving on a late flight. Noise is not an issue since only three planes a day land and take off here. The owner and manager are doing their best to bring something new and needed to Whitehorse and they should be supported.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrigidCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank crexy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank N1c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $97 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing