We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I made an online reservation with Skky Hotel on September 28, 2012 for arriving on October 7, 2012. My plans had changed so I called the hotel on the 30th and spoke with a lady from guest services to cancel my reservation. She found my reservation and asked if I wanted my cancellation number , I said I didn't need it. I did ask her if I should get it just incase and she said I really didn't need it.
So my husband and I ended up arriving on the 8th and stayed for 2 nights. When we got into the room, it was very nice and modern, the bathroom door you literally had to use all of your muscles just to close it, also the complemetary conditioner was all lumpy and gross. There was no bathtub or mircowave in the room which was a disappointment.
On October 18th I was going over my credit card statement and noticed 2 different charges from Skky Hotel. One on the 8th for one nights stay and again on the 10th for a 2 night stay. I thought maybe they took a pre-authorization on the 8th and forgot about it. I called last night and spoke with a very helpful girl and advised me that I had to call the next day to talk to a supervisor because they had the authority to reverse charges on credit cards. So I called back the next day and talked to Lisa. I told her the situation and she said my card was charged because I didn't show up for my reservation on the 7th. I proceeded to say that I had cancelled that reservation due to not knowing what my plan were. She asked for on my cancellation number and I said I did not take it due to not wanting it and the front desk girl saying I didn't need it either. So with at being said she wasn't going to reverse the charge because I had no cancellation number, I couldn't remember who I had talked to and it was going to screw up the paperwork to go to her head office? So I'm assuming the reservation never got cancelled if it got charged as a no show.
I work at the Ramada Inn & Suites Hotel in Alberta, Canada and when someone calls to cancel a reservation we actually CANCEL the reservation and do not charge the credit card. If it's charged we go out of our way to make sure the card is refunded the amount charged to them. I do ask if a guest wants a cancellation number and alot of the guests say no. This just floors me and makes me so frustrated all because it will screw up book work for head office to refund something that is their fault in the first place. I shouldn't have to take a cancellation number if I don't want it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am very sorry to hear about the mix up with your cancellation. I am having the hotel investigate the matter to see what happened and to find the record of your cancellation. Once we verify that such was the case, we will issue a refund to you for the nights. Unfortunately, this is the first we at head office have heard of this matter and had we been advised, we would have investigated such forthwith and resolved the matter. Please feel free to contact me directly at calandra@rogers.com

Once again we apologize if there has been for any error on our part and will rectify such accordingly .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    155
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
81
114
41
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sitka, ak
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

You look at the outside and go "no way am I staying there". You walk inside and it's like Alice in wonderland where she says " we are not in Kansas anymore Toto". Rooms are super clean and modern "chic". Restaurant food is fantastic Stay here and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isledweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recent stayed 2 nights at this hotel while "chasing" Northern Lights in Whitehorse. This hotel located near the airport and is not close to town. There is a free shuttle from/to the airport. The hotel was recently refurbish and everything was "almost brand new". The receptionist was extremely helpful in all respects. The room was of reasonable size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was however very small and had a shower stall only. The thermostat in my room was difficult to use. It was either too hot or too cold. Flat screen LCD TV with about 3 dozens local and satelite channels. Free parking just outside the hotel. I also ate at the Volare restaurant at the hotel and both the food and service were excellent. All in all, a very happy experience. Housekeeping staff actually greeted you to say "good morning" when you see them in the corridor in the morning. I shall stay here again if I return to visit Whitehorse.

Room Tip: This hotel has not elevator (lift). If you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Skky Hotel provides comfortable accommodations directly across from the Whitehorse airport. Much attention has been paid to design details, with contemporary fixtures and decor. We stayed two nights, at the start and end of our trip in Yukon and Alaska, and found it to be a quiet and pleasant place to stay, with all the modern conveniences. The staff was very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: One drawback is that there is no elevator in this 2 storey hotel, so if hauling your bags up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Skky is across from the airport, but a bit harder to come across if you are driving into Whitehorse. The parking lot is gravel, and the outside looks like a ho-hum motel, but inside it is very nice indeed. We found the staff to be friendly, and the room was very comfortable with an upscale bathroom. The views are nothing to brag about, we had a view of an unkempt lot from our room. The internet connection was very good, which we found to be rare on the trip to Alaska.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnscrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as part of a group on a fishing trip. The staff bent over backwards taking care of us. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant on the first night and it was the best dinner I had during the entire trip (and all of our dinner's were excellent). Despite the hotel being completely sold out the staff still went out of their way to accommodate any request for transportation, room service, or general local advice. It felt like we were being taken care of by friends. The rooms were modern and very clean. At first I was concerned about the location because it wasn't right downtown, but for a short trip it is perfect because it is close to the airport and the highway. No one in our large group ever had a problem getting a cab to or from downtown at any time. Thanks again for a great stay SKKY!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are always overjoyed to hear from guests who have enjoyed their experience at the Skky Hotel and hope that we can welcome you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked a king room with a sleeper sofa. But there was not a sofa in the room. We checked in with 3 people and the desk man did not say a word about there was only a king bed in the room. Come on REALLY?? 3 adults in one bed?? He just looked at us like we were from a different planet. Our son had to use a air mattress. The king bed was great, the bathroom was high end and very nice

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the issue you experienced with respect to the lack of a sofa bed and have made inquiries accordingly. According to my information, you made an online reservation for a room that did not have a sofa sleeper and it looks like you made that reservation through Travelocity. Had you called the hotel directly and/or booked directly with the hotel, this could have been avoided as the front desk had no knowledge of your requirements and we were sold out. I am sorry about the mix up and suggest that in your future travels you deal directly with either a hotel's website or their front desk, so as to avoid such issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing