We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Acceptable overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We booked well in advance and were conceerned with the appearence when we pulled up to the SKKY motel. We held our breath, checked in, and were plesently surprised with the quallity of the room. The hallways were narrow, and there wee no elevators or baggage carts to ease loading and unloading, but we got it done.

Others have ted the slow internet connections, so no need to cover that again. It has not changed.

Our biggest complaint was with the shower. The controls are ultra modern and it is a case of letting design rule over functionality. The controls are difficult, if not impossible, to operate and there are no instructions. We heard others at checkout complaining on the same issue. We will check out other options if we pass this way again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and will look at potentially having information about the showers in the rooms to avoid such issues in future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    155
    65
    23
    10
See reviews for
80
111
41
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days one week and 1 day the next. Only complaint was the temperature in the hallways.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Loved loved the restaurant.
I will be travelling for business very much over the next 2 years and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.
Thank you to the sky hotel for making me have a home away from home.

Room Tip: booked with the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 181788Happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments, which I have forwarded with pleasure to our staff. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here overnight on business. Rooms and decor were nice and clean, bed was very comfortable. Room was too hot and it took the a/c unit forever to get it to a comfortable state. The hallways were uncomfortably hot. Overall good, but I think it was cheap of the hotel to charge $7 for the continental breakfast. For the selection of cereal, yogurt, patries, etc., that was on offer, most other hotels of this calibre would include it as a convenience for their guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are the only hotel in Whitehorse with air conditioning in all rooms, which is a rarity for the North. Unfortunately, in the transition from the very cold season to the hot season, the air conditioning units sometimes need to be tuned, as they have been off for some 10 months. We have attended to such and are confident that on your next stay, you will find the air conditioning to your standards. Again thank you for your review and we hope we can welcome you again on your next trip North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here on our drive to Alaska and was very disappointed for several reasons. The temp outside was 40 degrees and our room was very cold. My husband was unable to adjust the heat, so he called the front desk. He was told that the climate control was set to automatic, and we could not adjust it from our room. We were offered a space heater, but didn't want the hassle so instead we warmed up under the covers. Even the radiant heated flooring that they boast about in their brochure wasn't working & our feet got cold. The bathroom was extremely small...no counter space for our toiletries. The bathroom sink must have been clogged, because it took forever for the water to drain. The next morning I was looking forward to a nice shower under their fancy rainforest shower head, but was greeted instead by cold water. As I climbed out of the shower (no tub here), I realized that someone in the room next door was taking a shower at the same time and wondered if he was using all of the hot water. I would have complained to the front desk but we were leaving anyway. We have stayed in several hotels along the Al-Can highway & this was the worse yet. Too expensive for what you get. We actually prefer the less expensive, welcoming Wolf Ridge B & B cabins and they don't even have running water or toilets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsandcool, Director of Sales at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience and are sorry about the experience you had with us. Unfortunately we did have a temporary issue with our boilers, which although new, had a problem at that time that was fully addressed and rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Spent a few nights there. Forget the outside look, awful. Inside eveything is perfect in the rooms. Cannot say that about the hallways and the lobby, but they are very acceptable.
Only problem is that the whole place is totally overheated. Had to set my room at 18C so I could sleep. I do not think that this is normal above the 61st Parallell in April. The other problem was that the Internet was the slowest I have ever encounter on a trip and in any hotel that offered it, (You cannot view a 15 seconds "YouTube" file; so make other arragenments for Internet. This is why the Service evaluation is a bit low.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

I found it to be what other hotels don't have, Hospitality and SUPER awesome Customer service, I found them through facebook and Fell in Love.
http://www.facebook.com/skkyhotel


Thanks guys

Room Tip: Just Ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Alonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We moved here from another hotel downtown and it was the best decision we could have made. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside it is a very nice hotel. The hallways are narrow with low ceilings but the rooms are modern and the beds are fantastic. The beds have ample comfortable pillows and cozy down duvets. The shower (no tub in our room) is large, modern tile and glass enclosure with a huge shower head. The rooms are quiet and on the second floor have small patios that overlook the airport. We could see the planes taking off and landing from our window.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and were quick to respond to requests for little things like extra towels. The Internet connection was intermittent and wasn't very fast. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked impressive. I would have liked to have tried the prosciutto-wrapped scallops.

The main disadvantage is the location. It is a $14 cab ride to get downtown and there isn't really much else out by the airport. We had a vehicle so it wasn't as much of an issue. I've stayed at 4 hotels in Witehorse and this one is by far the nicest and has great beds.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have views of the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 13 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#11 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing