We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful and Rushed Service Destroyed a Nice Evening” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Tropez Bistro

Saint Tropez Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Saint Tropez Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 660 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: French, Fusion, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: The Bistro is a small locally owned and operated restaurant, in a historic 1906 building in the heart of downtown Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Using locally sourced ingredients when available, dishes are inspired by our love of travel. In the summer months, watch for our Bistro rooftop garden vegetables and herbs. Our little garden started out as a few pots of herbs and tomatoes. Now, it has grown to include edible flowers, heirloom tomatoes, beans, peppers, lettuces, and so much more.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Dreadful and Rushed Service Destroyed a Nice Evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We came to Saint Tropez with some out of town visitors for an after-conference meal. The food at Saint Tropez is always quite good (not as impressive on our last two visits as previously, to be honest), but our last experience has really turned us off the place.

We made a 630 dinner reservation and arrived on time (or as close to on time as the terrible downtown Saskatoon parking permits). From the beginning, we felt that we were being rushed to finish our meal. The main courses arrived while half our table was still eating their appetizers -- two of us had to keep both the appetizer and main course plates in front of them on a very crowded table. They collected the plates immediately after we had taken the last bite and then hastily delivered the dessert menu.

Our visitors liked the food, but none of us were pleased with the terrible service. They were clearly rushing to close up for the evening (there was no one waiting for our table) and it appeared that others in the restaurant were being given the same fast shuffle.

One of the attractions of a high quality bistro-style restaurant is the opportunity for a relaxed and leisurely meal. Saint Tropez offered nothing at all like that. Could us disappointed and very unlikely to try the restaurant again in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellence In Action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

New Year's - Welcoming 2014 with a four course dinner at St Tropez Bistro. An amazing night of laughter, conversation and first class quality meal/service.

The serving team made you feel right at home and very special. attention to detail was simply outstanding.

Food was first rate, preparation/presentation an A+

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Saskatoon secret.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

St. Tropez has been in existence for many years, although it's current location and style have come a long way from its early days in the 80's as a quaint basement hangout and cafe. When we have special guests or wish to celebrate a family occasion and don't want to take any chances on a good meal and a pleasant evening, then this is our restaurant of choice. Yes it is pricey and the wine selection could include a wider selection by the glass (preferably under $14.00), but the menu is tried and true. I usually have the salmon, but this time had the chicken breast. It was tender, moist and very tasty and perfect with the mashed potato and veggies. This is a great restaurant if you want to enjoy a conversation without raising your voice. The service was pleasant and courteous and they sometimes offer little financial incentives, like coupons or gratuities included. The decor and atmosphere are romantic and intimate although the art work is not particularly eye pleasing and could do with an update. We do not go there often, but I have yet to be disappointed with this Saskatoon gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not our experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went to the Bistro on Thursday Dec 5 2013. The atmosphere is delightful and the service was charming and welcoming. However, the portions were miniscule, the food was cold, the everything was terribly overpriced and nothing that hit our plate ( with the possible exception of the 3/4 cup of soup that was the appetizer "bowl") was fresh or homemade. My mother had the "garlic" shrimp which claimed to be 10 to a plate but there were only eight. It was clear that they had been previously frozen and probably came off a shrimp wheel that you could by for an Hor d'ouver platter at Superstore. And there was no garlic. The veg were cold and also previously frozen. My salad was a wilted 1/4 package of a premixed store bought packet with 1/4 of an apple sliced so thinly that you could read a news paper through it and blue cheese that was non-exsistant. Dessert was a mouse cake that was still frozen in the center. Winewas 19$ for a 1/2 litre of decent Canadian wine that sells for $9.95 a bottle in the liquour store. Goodish wine cost $14.00 a glass. The entire meal cost us over $80.00 and we tipped accordingly. For what we got we over paid. We have been to other resturants in town paid less and had decent portions that did not leave us hungry and longing for new tastes or any taste for that matter. Sorry St.Tropez Bistro I would not recommend you unless you get help from Gordon Ramsey!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent smaller restaurant, great fine dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

A smaller more private restaurant, this one met my expectations at every level. The menu is short, but excellent. Our group of three ordered the filet which was very high quality and cooked perfect. We also enjoyed a couple of bottles of an Argentinian Melipal Malbec wine, which complimented the food we had ordered quite nicely. The waiter was very attentive and professional. We were the only people in the restaurant after 8:30 PM, yet the waiter also let us be until we decided to leave, rather than tell us they wanted to close early. Technically they were open until 10. Definitely going back, was worth the money for the service and overall quality of dining. Prices are fair but I would classify them as at the higher end - I think my Filet alone was $32. A couple should definitely budget $100 to go here for a supper with a drink or two.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SnorkellingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Tropez Bistro also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Saint Tropez Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing