We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing.”

Fox & Hounds Pub & Brewery
Ranked #313 of 684 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Regina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Despite some of the negative reviews I read on this place, I decided to give it a try one Saturday afternoon while in Saskatoon with my wife. My big mistake was asking one of the servers for a house beer menu. After she was done giggling, she told me that she would not recommend any of the house brews because all of them were BAD! When I inquired as to why she felt this way, she got a bit huffy and told me that they did not have any menus for the beer because they only brewed it to retain their Offsale license, but if I was still interested she would bring me some taster glasses. Much to our dismay, she quickly walked away--before we could order food--returning with my tasters about ten or so minutes later. Then she plopped them onto our table and asked if we would like anything else. At this point my wife got angry and told her not to bother. We both wanted to leave at this point, but I decided to give the tasters a try. i believe there were four 'Styles' of beer. And without question, none were very palatable. But, simply put, the worst part of our trip to The fox and Hounds was the rude service. OK, maybe our server was having an off day, but she could have given us a chance to giver both her and her place of business a chance. Neither I nor my wife would ever return to this place, and we don't even know what the food is like...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    11
    1
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“spectacular micro brewery”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

great place to go for a beer after work, and has a really good selection from their own micro brewery. good stuff...

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank funkdubius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No Tip for you!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

What a rude staff. Yet here they are, and here they have been for at least fifteen years or more. I don't get it: The food is average to bad--when it's cooked--the beer is as good or bad as anywhere else, but the service (Oxymoron used here) is the worst in Saskatoon. Why the owners have not closed this place and started over is anyone's guess. I guess there's a lot of money to be made in the Restaurant/Bar business. Especially if you're really a laundromat disguising yourself as a serving establishment!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Chicory-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Brews”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The food is always good, the service good and the beer cold!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dingy”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I realize that when going to a pub you should not expect four star service but this place really did seem dumpy. it was very dark and the atmosphere made me uncomfortable. The food was okay, my soup was cold - and my boyfriends sandwhich was average. The service was very slow, and the watress was quite rude. Overall i think unless you really like that low end feel - maybe skip this place.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank allyshamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds Pub & Brewery also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Fox & Hounds Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing