We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had No Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
A TripAdvisor Member
“Had No Choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2005

I have stayed at several Howard Johnsons over the past few years and you would think I would have learned my lesson by now. The only good one was in New York City. I stayed one night here in Saskatoon because all the other hotels were booked because the Queen was in the city and what a mistake. The desk clerk on signing in was tattooed and body pierced and wasn't very friendly. He didn't give a sense of trustworthiness on first sight. Both clerks that I encountered were visble minorities who couldn't speak English very well and couldn't even read my names which are one syllable names. The restaurant wasn't open at any time I was there. They were preparing to open it for breakfast the morning I left and that was after 10 a.m. Hello! It should have been open at 7. Most of the guests were gone to the restaurants down the street. The room was old and dated and in need of repair. The whole motel is in need of a major overhaul. I was in a room right across the parking lot from the Travel Lodge and there were parties there all night. At least the people on either side of me were elderly without kids and they were quiet. The bathroom was in need of repair. The shower head didn't work very well and you had to practically run around in the tub to get wet since it sprayed in every direction but down! Water had to run for ten minutes before it got hot..........where was it coming from? Regina? I wouldn't stay here again unless you are a party animal, don't care what the room looks or smells like and don't care if the hotel clerks are biker dudes from Hell! Next time I stay in Saskatoon, it will be the Bessborough for me and leave this dive to the poor folks who can't find a hotel anywhere else in the city(like me this weekend). I guess we all have to step down a class or three once in awhile to appreciate the ones on the bottom.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for your review on the Northwoods Inn and Suites. Please note that we take each issue very seriously and have taken steps to address each and every comments and or complaints that we received. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct to discuss your stay and or any problem that you have had. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    8
    8
    109
See reviews for
31
15
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
regina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2005

Was given room 102 which was close to the street. The noise from people talking outside to the traffic noise was unbearable, which went on all night.

There was no sound proofing done to the walls or windows.

Would not go back again, at any price.

J.Wong

Regina

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank joectk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for your review on the Northwoods Inn and Suites. Please note that we take each issue very seriously and have taken steps to address each and every comments and or complaints that we received. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct to discuss your stay and or any problem that you have had. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2004

This place is a dive. Ido not reccomend bringing your children here.
Nothing but partying 24 - 7. Security seems very slow witted and ineffective.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for your review on the Northwoods Inn and Suites. Please note that we take each issue very seriously and have taken steps to address each and every comments and or complaints that we received. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct to discuss your stay and or any problem that you have had. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#8 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Property: Northwoods Inn & Suites
Address: 610 Idylwyld Drive North | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon
Northwoods Inn & Suites Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing