We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We paid $165 for this horribly dirty room.This hotel is in a horrible area badly lit scetchy people everywhere.We were worried to leave the car parked outside this place. We decided to check the bed before we went to our concert and on the second bed huge blood stain hasnt even been washed sheets... Eww this was the laststraw we went to talk to the manager of this hotel hoping he would be apologetic and offer us some kind of refund. NO he screamed and pointed in our faces telling us he was god and we could leave with no refund, this was private property and we could leave and get the law if we wanted to. He would not give us kind of refund switched our room that was it... This new room was no better blood on the back of the bathroom door, bathroom light and front curtains .. Needless to say we did not sleep there scared for our lives...DO NOT STAY AT THIS "HOTEL"!!!!!!??

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank missmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

By far the WORST experience Ive ever had IN MY LIFE. I spent 140 dollars for one nights stay. The room was EXTREMELY hot, there was no way to turn the heat off completely... went to turn on the air conditioning, opened the door the control panels, and a freaking CRACK PIPE, wrapped in paper towel falls into my hands. HOW DID THE CLEANING STAFF MISS THIS? Could not get a wink of sleep because a group of people above our room were extremely loud and constantly slamming their door, falling into our window and door, getting in their car and leaving every 10 minutes, yelling at each other, etc. When I got the room they said I would get free breakfast in the morning. After I expressed my distress and disgust in the most polite way possible, they had no response, revoked their *deal* on the free breakfast, refused a refund, and all out didn't care. This place needs to be shut down. I can't believe their staff missed a CRACK PIPE that was basically out in the open. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Caila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please, come and stay in our hotel within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have boked new immigrants in here and they were dissapointed wth drunks rambling the Halls and the Bar next Door.
Unfortunately the management does nothing to deal with their repiutation.
Do check this motel before spending your money foolishly You will not sleep with the noise and the management will not adjust the price so friends had the Via Bill Cancelled .
Norman Wallace

Room Tip: Maybe management will realize the reputation and do something to improve Saskatoons repution on havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank normanwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

this hotel was run down over priced and didnt even know how to make drinks. plus they had no hot water and people fighting all night. good thing i only had to stay there passing threw im never going back to this place again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please, come and stay in our hotel within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent last night at this motel/dump. Partying, arguing, slamming doors, running on walkways all night. No heat, bed stunk to high heaven. No other available rooms in town that take pets. Do yourself a favour if you're travelling out this way. Book a room well in advance and don't ever even consider staying here.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here. My tip is keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tripps06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I didn't mind the broken lamp or the worn-out room so much, it was the cars honking their horns in the parking lot at 3 am that ruined it for me. Not a good place for any price unless you're used to living in a trailer park or slum.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We arrived at the motel and checked in. We were unable to open the door of our room after 2 attempts with 2 new electronic keys from the front desk. The clerk came up to the room and opened the door with a manual key. The room was smelly and very dirty. We were concerned about whether the beds would be full of bugs. Upon taking the bed sheets off to check we discovered one bed had blood covering about 1 square meter of area; which had also dripped down the side. There was blood next to the chair in the front area. We were shocked. When I asked for a refund at the front desk; the manager swore at me. I left with my elderly mother rather than argue with him.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. I've never seen anything like it in my life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Skiboy154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 41 in Saskatoon
266 reviews
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
#29 of 41 in Saskatoon
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Blairmore
#4 of 41 in Saskatoon
596 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
#31 of 41 in Saskatoon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Address: 610 Idylwyld Dr N | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: $70 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon
Northwoods Inn & Suites Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing