We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really dissappointed”
Review of The Ivy - CLOSED

The Ivy
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Casual fine dining in a beautiful setting. Located in Saskatoon's trendy downtown warehouse district, The Ivy has been setting new standards for the Saskatoon restaurant scene since 2006. Reservations always accepted for every size of party! Bring your Company, Family or Friends to enjoy one of our 3 private group dining / banquet spaces! Nightly lounge specials, heated patio for summer cocktails & al fresco dining!
Reviewed January 14, 2013

had the worst experience ever at the ivy on saturday jan 12(my birthday no less). my two adult children and my husband ordered our food at 7:10 and recieved it at 8:40. when we did receive it it was overcooked(steak,prime rib and tenderloin)and barely luke warm. we were actually ready to pay for our drinks and leave when the food arrived.there was a huge private party beside us that clearly got all of their food before the rest of the restaurant. the people behind us had been there since 6 and we got our food before them. the place was not packed and in the main restaurant area there were several tables that did not receive their food any time soon. we received 25% off our meal(should have been more) and i doubt we will ever go again,which is a shame because up until then we have generally had a good experience. perhaps if the ivy wants me back they will have to try and woo me. maybe if i had told them it was my birthday i may not have had to wait 1and a half hours for my food.my husband did tip the waiter but had some pretty harsh words about the chef.we did have a reservation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis K, Owner at The Ivy, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Lynne it is never our intention to have wait times this high at any time. Our apologies for this. Did you ask to speak to the Manager? You would have been better compensated if the Manager would have had the chance to speak to you. Our Chef and I were both away on vacations at the same time (usually we schedule them separately - this was a mistake on our part) and it was one of those evenings that went bad quickly without 2 of our key players there to help with the situation. We encourage our Guests to allow us the opportunity to resolve our issues before they take to publishing negative reviews about us. We are not allowed to offer any compensation to you now that this has is public through Trip Advisor which is unfortunate (it is Trip Advisor's policy). Next time, please ask for me and I would love to apologize to you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Ivy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Saturday night and packed to the hilt. Lee is an excellent waiter and did his best to keep up with everyone. Food we had was varied. Boar appetizer was excellent, unfortunately scallops were cold. Calamari was not a hit. A table of ten of us and it was just difficult to get hot food to everyone all at once.
Overall service was excellent.
Food good but high priced.
Drinks were good but high priced compared to the Keg, or Granary.
The popularity of this restaurant speaks for itself, but it is so crowded you are bumping into people constantly. Not a great place for children. Not a place for a romantic dinner either.
Going other than a weekend would be a better option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prairiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis K, Owner at The Ivy, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank You for your review and please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. Typically, we try to avoid booking the dining room to the point that it is this uncomfortable. We will focus harder on that more moving forward. As for the cold food there is no excuse for that. We try our best to have food run out as soon as it is plated, however this may not have been the case that evening. Our calamari is our number one selling appetizer and is always a hit - I'm not sure why yours was not but we welcome more detailed feedback on what you didn't like about it. We are less busy Sunday & Monday evenings if you would like to try us again when it will be much quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great meal and great service made for a great evening! The goat cheese appy is very good paired with an awesome filet mignon made for a great meal!,
Haven't been disappointed here yet.

1  Thank Flyntoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis K, Owner at The Ivy, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to post your review. It is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent food and the service was great! The steak was cooked perfectly and the lobster was wonderful.

1  Thank HappyVacationers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis K, Owner at The Ivy, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank You for your review! I really enjoy our lobster as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our night at The Ivy. The food and drinks were delicious (love the coconut shrimp in the lounge) and the atmosphere was comfortable and warm. The service was very friendly. The manager came to our table to see if we were enjoying our experience. We appreciated the attentiveness of the staff and will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ThePeacefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing