We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food”

Las Palapas Resort Grill
Ranked #4 of 684 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Mexican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nutana
Description: Bienvenidos a Las Palapas! Welcome to "the palapas", where we wish to enchant you: with our tropical charm, easy living and the laid back lifestyle of a resort grill redolent of the tropics of the Americas. Vibrant colours, tropical plants and lots of sunshine greet you in our splashy little grill. The dining room, lounge and patio are decorated with tropical furniture and fixtures and along with our background musica create the ambiance of that "place in the sun" we all dream of. Our focus is on serving the freshest tropical food (of Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America) with contemporary touches - Nuevo Tropical Cuisine. Open weekdays from 11 to 11 daily serving lunch, afternoon comida corrida and evening dinner, as well as exciting appetizers and tropical libations. Join us on weekends for a real treat, Breakfast on the Beach being served every Saturday and Sunday 9am -noon! "The living is easy" and easily accessible any day or night of the week at Las Palapas.
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I felt like I was in Mexico visiting a small restaurant. The food is absolutely superb, and the decor is like you are right in Mexico. They even play some funky holiday music and serve some yummy exotic drinks The food is great priced, some of the drinks are a bit pricey! Make sure you ask how much before you order them!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ernie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    250
    59
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reminds me of atmosphere in Akumal, Mexico”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Tried this restaurant for the first time last week, and found the atmosphere authentic and truly Mexican - right down to colors, tiled tables, drinks, and food. The menu offers a wide choice of Mexican dishes, so you have lots of options. Price was reasonable for Saskatoon. Be prepared for a long wait on prime evenings, but have a drink and relax in the positive environment. This is by my standards not really a quiet romantic date night spot as tables are close together and it's a small space. It is more of a relaxed casual Mexican restaurant, as if you were in Akumal, or Playa. You would be fine here in jeans and a t-shirt. Service was good, but sometimes slow (they were busy though). Would have been nice to get a water refill. Food was tasty, lots of the right flavours and portions were geneous. If you like Mexican food this will hit the spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkellingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent authentic Mexican fare,very good quality. The restaurant is small so it's wise to plan and book ahead especially if a larger group. We have never had to wait very long even at busier times.
The atmosphere is great-reminiscent of Mexico for sure! Staff is very friendly and attentive to your every needs. It tends to be slightly expensive, but you get what you pay for!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food is excellent, especially the coconut shrimp! I don't think we've been there yet that we didn't have to wait for a table though (lunch or dinner) so plan for that as it's not a large place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyVacationers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a wait”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The food is ok, but not really worth the wait or the price you pay. We come back because we live really close, but they have yet to impress me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DasBattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palapas Resort Grill also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Las Palapas Resort Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing