We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yard & Flagon Pub

The Yard & Flagon Pub
Ranked #29 of 660 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Nutana
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a typical pub for atmosphere. The food is amazing.The jerk chicken burger was fantastic. The caesar salad was great as was the caesar chicken wrap.
But the fries were the best I have ever had...and I dont like fries as a rule.
The service was very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    47
    20
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, but pick your day and time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of going to the Yard & Flagon Pub on two ocassions. The first time was early evening Monday and I managed to get a quiet table downstairs.

The second time was a Saturday evening and the place was far busier, leading to me taking as table upstairs.

I have to say that on both ocassions both the food and drinks were excellent. Only the second time did the service drop a little, due to the sheer volume of younger patrons.

Note: This pub is popular with students. But absolutely everyone is welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad but not memorable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Had the calamari followed by chicken wings and dry ribs. Not bad for pub food. Wish they still had paddockwood on tap. The girl serving is could have been a bit more enigmatic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Saskatoon summer sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having a beer or eating on this top of this pub's deck is the quintessential experience of summer on the Prairies. The service is great, the food is definitely a cut above general pub grub. Beer list great, glasses cold and if you have good company - you are in for a great day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gulietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford City, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“limited seating... good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we got there, the description "pub" is very accurate. There were tables open but only for two people, so we sat at a high top table with stools. It was a bar with food. The food was above average, and in my opinion, tasty. The service was very good. Our waitress was on the ball, it didn't hurt that we were within a few feet of the waitress station. If you're between the ages of 21-38 and enjoy a bar atmosphere, you will enjoy it. Its located downtown on a nice street. We went on a thursday evening and parking wasn't too abundant, and it was all street parking. There was seating upstairs, which we did not visit as part of my party was disabled, so I'm not sure if they had outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yard & Flagon Pub also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to The Yard & Flagon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing