We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and impressed!”
Review of A A Taj Mahal Restaurant - CLOSED

A A Taj Mahal Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time and impressed!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My first time dining here for lunch. Was promptly seated, and promptly served beverages. Our bread came a bit later than other tables, but was hand delivered by the owner a few minutes later, and he stated that the last batch was not up to his standards, and he does not serve food that he would not eat himself. We had the Indian Buffet which was all very fresh, hot, and tasty! I highly recommend you try this place if you are into authentic Est Indian food!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent...”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Simply put, the food was excellent.
Started with the Prawn & Aloo Prantha appetisers followed with
the murgh biryani, masala fish & mushroom bhaji.
Way too much food for the 2 of us, but hey, we took the leftovers back to
the Hotel and had it for lunch the next day.
Would go back there in a heartbeat the next time we visit.
Amongst the best Indian food we've had in a while, the service was with a
smile & they had a decent Oregon Pinot which went well with the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vijay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden BC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice service & good food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Samosas to die for, and my sheek kebab was nice (although I thought it odd that it was beef and not the usual lamb), however the beef in my colleague's korma tasted a bit like canned cafeteria beef.
However the staff were so lovely that we enjoyed the whole experience and I would definitely go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We never miss a chance to dine at Taj Mahal when visiting Saskatoon. Easily the best East Indian cuisine in the city and the province. Great choice of appetizers that never disappoint and outstanding attention to quality and ingredients is evident in the wide selection of delicious entrees. Prices are reasonable and the service at this family-run establishment is always attentive and personable. Nice, upscale dining experience with enough space between tables that you don't have to overhear the conversations of other diners. We've been going to this restaurant for many years and have never been disappointed. It compares favorably to the East Indian establishments we've dined at in Ottawa and other North American cities over the years.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as I thought it would be...”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nicely decorated Indian restaurant serving Canadianized-Indian food. At the price they charge, and the description given by the owner, I have to admit that the food was somewhat disappointing. There was nothing extraordinary. I think they could vastly improve on food flavor.
The value of their food is not worth the price!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snow F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A A Taj Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing