We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Rose Restaurant

Saigon Rose Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 660 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I always look forward to going to the Saigon, knowing how great it will be. I have been there literally 100 times and every time it is as good as the first visit. It is fast and tastes incredible. It is slightly hard to find, but it is worth looking for. From my experiences it is by far the best Vietnamese food in Saskatchewan.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fordsask24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“. . . But the FOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

You really have to know someone to find this place. You can drive by it 50 times and if you blink you would miss it. From the outside, it really does not look like much. And when you first enter, you might not be impressed. But the food speaks for itself. The food is crazy good. It is fresh and flavorful, and if you don't get there early Monday-Friday you will not get a seat. The locals in Saskatoon keep this place all to themselves. Because in Saskatoon, they know food.

Helpful?
Thank jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“not authentic, at all.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Service: Great. It was a week night and the kids were helping wait tables and clean up.

Decor: Similar to that of a cafeteria

Food: Unfortunately NOT authentic at all. The "fresh" spring rolls were made long before I ordered them, the pho's broth was all wrong and didn't come with a slice of lime, and the sauce for the spring rolls was a mixture of fish sauce and oyster sauce. This meal was a "fusion" at best. This is probably the worst pho that I have had in Canada. Even the slices of beef in the pho were like steaks, they are supposed to be 1/3 the thickness. My special beef was supposed to be called a rare beef, there was nothing other than beef steaks.

Review: The food was poor at best. I had to add a bunch of hot sauce to finish eating it. It was really nice to see the family working but it is unfortunate that the food was not authentic.

Reason for stars: Based on the food, I won't be going back. It's unfortunate that with a name with Saigon in it is not authentic at all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Ordered delivery for seven, half vegetarian. Delivered an amazing amount of food only 30 minutes later for $75. It was good and fresh. Will get again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
194 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent Cheap & Cheerful Vietnamese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Im sure all of the food is good but here are my recommendations again and again:
- tea
- deep fried spring rolls
- cold rolls
- dry chicken strips on vermicelli & vegetables
- bbq chicken or prawn on vermicelli
- pho soup

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cocorotsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Rose Restaurant also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Saigon Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing