We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright, but we wouldn't return”
Review of Motel 6 Saskatoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Saskatoon
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was alright, but we wouldn't return”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and we found the hotel clean and quiet. Tim Horton's, Denny's, Costco and a truck stop with restaurant and car wash were conveniently close.

On the down side, our 'kitchenette' was a mini-fridge and a microwave, the beds were at the extreme edge of 'firm', and the bedspreads were cheap and hideous. I wouldn't usually comment on hotel bedspreads, but these were unpleasant-feeling polyester, with a bright, primary-coloured 'Motel 6' / truck and semi-trailer design... possibly suitable for a small boy's bedroom if he likes trucks.

The location is right on the north outskirts of town. It's easy to find from either the Yellowhead or the Prince Albert highway, but you'd never guess what a pretty city Saskatoon is from this location, and there are several hotel selections in town for about the same price.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you will prefer the rooms on the side that doesn't overlook the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
37
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had a friend refer me to this hotel for when our family was taking a trip through Saskatchewan. We have stayed at Motel 6's before, and always found them to be VERY basic hotels. When we booked our room, all they had were kitchenettes (a little bit on the pricey side, if you don't need the kitchen part). But when we arrived, the man at the desk (a young man, I believe Tom was his name) asked us if that is what we needed, or if we'd like a regular room, because there were now some available. That was very nice - the rate went down about $30 and we got what we needed. I know Motel 6 does not have hair dryers in the rooms, so I made sure to ask during check-in, and he gave me one, no problem. Something I didn't know about this place, that I learnt at check-in, is that this hotel has the only salt water pool in Saskatoon! When we stayed, the hot tub jets weren't working, but the desk man was very apologetic about it. The room was very clean, although the blankets they have are definitely not the most attractive. However, the room did completely meet our expectations. I really loved the fact that all I had to do was talk to the desk guy and we could get anything we needed - towels, blankets, anything. The lady at check-out (didn't have a name tag) was super sincere as well, offering us a copy of the receipt, checking to make sure everything was perfect during our stay. It's great to know that the employees there seem to genuinely love their job, and try to keep the guests happy. Customer service is huge to us, so we will definitely stay here again, when needed! Highly recommend this place if you're going through Saskatoon - not very central, but it's cheap, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red_one_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you just want a place to lay your head for a night or two. The room was clean and the staff is friendly, can't ask for much more! The location was great for our trip, as we were just stopping in from Edmonton on our way to Winnipeg. It was easy to find and we didn't have to navigate through the city to get to it. If you're looking for somewhere central, this probably isn't the best place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACuming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here after researching other locations...hotels in Saskatoon are quite pricey. The Super 8 had the same price, but I chose this hotel since it had a pool for the kids. We paid $115.00 a for 2 double beds. In most other cities, this would be an $80.00 to $90.00 room. The room was very bright and clean, but it was cramped. The front lobby area was also very clean. The hot tub was nice and warm, and the pool was reasonably warm. There is a truck stop across the road...we stayed on the backside of the motel, so this wasn't an issue for us, it was quiet there. There is a Tim Horton's right adjacent, so that is handy. My only complants would be the price (which I had mentioned are higher everywhere in Saskatoon), and the internet in the lobby, which wasn't working the whole time we were there (we stayed two nights)...also, they charge to use the lobby computer/internet. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Coose a room at the back of the hotel, due to truck stop across the street from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMadmanThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at this Motel 6 on the way through Saskatoon. I found it to be clean, it was quite busy at the time, but they were able to accommodate us thankfully. Typical Motel 6 rooms, quite basic, no frills. But decent beds, clean washroom. I found the price to be a bit much though. I believe it is because of the booming Saskatoon economy. Hotels are a bit hard to come by, so I suppose it is to be expected. I would stay here again, however.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roblin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We ended up in the 3rd floor "accessible" room. It is very nice and roomy, although I can't really imagine that bathtub is very accessible. It has a high edge. Handheld shower, though. The room was clean, and there was always someone available if we needed anything. There seemed to be quite a few kids when we were there, and they made a fair bit of noise quite late into the evening, which isnt really the hotel's fault, either. Fair value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCutie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This Motel 6 has decent rooms, nothing special about them but there is a mini fridge. Coffee is always on in the lobby and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The price is unbeatable, has to be the lowest in the city as far as decent hotels go. A definate plus is the pool.

Some pople like the location but I found it to be a bit out of the way on the outskirts of the city's north end. Perfect for concert-goers (close to CUC) and there is a Tim Hortons right outside, but everything else requires a drive to get to.

I am definately staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwayne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#8 of 39 in Saskatoon
753 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 39 in Saskatoon
184 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
258 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,331 reviews
2.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Saskatoon

Property: Motel 6 Saskatoon
Address: 231 Marquis Dr W, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7R 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Saskatoon 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AWARD WINNING Motel 6 Saskatoon with Tim Hortons on-site ready to serve you 24hrs! We're just two blocks from SaskTel Centre, Saskatoon's premiere concert venue and sports arena. With easy access to downtown, retail centres, entertainment areas, local attractions, and historic sites, Motel 6 Saskatoon is situated exactly where you need to be. We have attentive staff and the best value of any national chain for clean comfortable rooms as well as a GUEST SERVICE GUARANTEE! Our features provide even greater value to our guests including: • Tim Hortons on-site ready to serve you 24 hrs! • Kids under 18 stay FREE • Pool & Hot Tub • Premium 5GHz WIFI Access in all guest rooms • FREE expanded television channels and voicemail • Studio kitchenettes at low weekly rates • FREE local calls • Wheelchair-accessible rooms & parking • FREE 24 hr. Coffee/tea service • FREE Tim Hortons Baked Goods in the morning • 24 hr. Color laser printing & fax services • 24 hr. Guest laundry & ATM machine • Mini fridges in all rooms • 24 hr. Internet work station • Pets welcome with no fees! • 24 hr. Husky Market store & restaurant adjacent to hotel • FREE truck parking. We're easy to find, immediately beside Tim Hortons, 2 blocks west of SaskTel Centre, 3 blocks west of Costco, Subway and Direct Buy, 1 block west of Agriplace Ice Sports, and across the street from Husky Travel Centre, off Hwy.16 - And we accept all major credit cards. As always, "We'll Leave The Light On For You!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Saskatoon Hotel Saskatoon
Motel Six Saskatoon
Saskatoon Motel 6
Saskatoon Motel Six
Motel 6 Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing