We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon at Boom Town!”

Western Development Museum
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great afternoon at Boom Town!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Be prepared to spend a few hours wandering the streets of Boom Town, which is an indoor venue. Its a Great place to go in the winter, because it usually isn't overly busy, so you can take all the time you want to wander from building to building. Boom Town (1910) is very detailed with vintage furniture, buildings, vehicles, etc. Lots and Lots of photo ops & information about days gone by.

There is another area just off Boom Town street which you can see Dirty Thirty's, a real Sod house, vehicles, Make sure and take a ride in a Bennet Buggy, farming over the years, etc. And check out the Awesome mural back drops. There is also a magic kitchen, you have to see! It changes before your very eyes!

There is a Tractor and Farm Machinery section, that is by the railway station building and an antique car section also. Don't bother going to the Western Development if you have a short amount of time, there is an amazing amount of things to see and do inside the building.

We spent three hours and didn't even get thru the whole museum, if you have the desire to learn about Saskatoon & Saskatchewan history, you'll love it here. After buying our entrance tickets, I was pleasantly surprised to find out it gave us entrance for two days! A Wonderful tribute and salute to our hardy pioneers!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    162
    28
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-See Museum in Saskatoon”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

An old town was re-created "real-size" in a museum. Visitors will definitely learn a lot about the history and culture of Saskatchewan here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CHDH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Surprising !! Worth a visit if you are in Sasakatoon”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

On arriving at this museum we were very unsure - but looks can be deceiving! The outside of the building is not much, on entering we were equally unsure. Once we had paid and entered we thought uh oh this is really a great place for kids with the 'longest indoor street' depicting life in circa 1910. Mildly interesting. However, once you get to the end of this street the really interesting, interactive, informative and extremely well presented museum starts. We learned an amazing amount about Saskatchewn and throughly enjoyed 2-3 hours wandering through here. Put this on your to do list if you are in Saskatoon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable way to spend the afternoon.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well worth the money, the kids were well entertained, as were we. Definitely would do it again in a couple years. (Can't imagine the exhibits change all that often, otherwise we would do it yearly.)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLOYDMINSTER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable for a longtime resideny”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Worth spending some time here. After living in Saskatoon and being away I had a good time revisiting here. At the time there was an environment built house that really picked my interest but the western town made me feel like a child again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Development Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Development Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing