We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back...”

Prairie Harvest Cafe
Ranked #40 of 671 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: local ingredients
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep coming back...”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I love this little gem. It is kind of hidden away so unless you are familiar with the neighbourhood, make sure you check a map so you don't get lost. The menu is every changing so it is difficult to point to my favourite dish but the one I order most often is the gnocchi with whatever goodness comes on top on that particular day. I have also tried the pork loin, chicken and chorizo pot pie and other goodies and all are equally delicious. They have good wines and many of the elusive Living Sky Winery products. Not the biggest fan of Paddock Wood beers but hats off for staying true to the local producers (and they do sell GW draft too). I like to describe their food to people as a really awesome home cooked meal, well at least the awesome home cooked meal you would have if anyone of your family or friends knew how to cook this well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Return Visits Have Been Disappointing”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A friend directed us to this restaurant a while back -- and we were impressed. The food was very good, the service great and the atmosphere laid back and prairie-relaxed. We have been back twice in the last year, but have not been as pleased. The decor and service are as before. But the rickety chairs and awkward placement of the tables looses a little shine on second and third visits. The food was not as attractive as previously. On our last visit, two of our three entrees were just okay -- not unique of spectacular but serviceable. We had hoped for more and were mildly disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, warm and efficient service”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Found it on Tripadvisor and was intrigued by the simple and terroir like cuisine and the home based business style in a residential neighborhood. Had a tasty and original meal that was very filling and properly priced. The service.was top nutch. Look forward to go again next time I'm around.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayulita, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade cuisine”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staying with my mother is Saskatoon, and lucked into hearing about this small residential restaurant near her home. Just went for lunch, and had the house Terducken burger (ground duck, turkey and chicken) - incredibly good! They also have a fish burger of the day - today's was ground trout and pickerel - wished I could have tried that too! The lunch came with fresh greens side salad, and homemade hummus and chick pea and beet chips. The staff and service was great, and obviously committed to very fresh and locally source ingredients. A gem in Saskatoon!
Will have to go back for either lunch or dinner again before my visit ends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMM”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food here is "really really good". It is a little bit hard to find and a little bit small, but it adds to the charm that is Prairie Harvest Cafe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Harvest Cafe also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Prairie Harvest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing